book cover of Leading Man

Leading Man

(2013)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of David Nicholls and Nick Hornby comes a hilarious, bittersweet, heartwarming debut novel about love of all kinds: first, unrequited, delusional, obsessive, and, ultimately, the kind that lasts.

At 26, Maxwell Lerner thinks he has his whole life figured out. He's got the girl--his high-school sweetheart Samantha. He's got the job--low-level reporter for a prestigious national magazine. He even lives with aforementioned girl in a walk-up studio apartment in the West Village. Life is sweet. Until his aspiring actress girlfriend leaves him for his childhood hero, Johnny Mars, who, as action adventurer "Jack Montana," features in some of Max's favorite movies. Getting dumped for one of his idols sets Max off on a dual mission: to get inside the glamorous world Samantha left him for, and to win her back. But when Samantha's perfect life takes an unexpected turn, Max gets more of an education, in life and in love, than he bargained for.


Get it on Google Play

Praise for this book

"A funny, sharp deconstruction of our fame-obsessed, media-savvy culture, a charming love story, and a ridiculously fun read." - Gillian Flynn


Used availability for Benjamin Svetkey's Leading Man

Paperback Editions

2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Leading Man
Author(s): Benjamin Svetkey
ISBN: 1-78022-513-X / 978-1-78022-513-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Leading Man (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Benjamin Svetkey
ISBN: 0-307-94961-3 / 978-0-307-94961-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Leading Man
Author(s): Benjamin Svetkey
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Leading Man (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Benjamin Svetkey
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA