New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Embers of Heaven

The Embers of Heaven

(2006)
(The second book in the Jin-Shei series)
A novel by

 
 
A rich, magical saga, set in eighteenth-century China, which will appeal to fans of Joanne Harris and Amy Tan. In The Secrets of Jin-Shei, eight women pledge themselves as sisters in the name of jin-shei, the unbreakable bond, the promise that lasts a lifetime. This sisterhood shapes their lives, their country and their world. "The Embers of Heaven" begins four hundred years later. In eighteenth-century Syai, and its capital city of Linh-an, things have changed beyond recognition. On the face of it, women are more equal than they have ever been. But the men run the machines, the factories, and the technology. Women have lost the ability to weave their fates and influence the course of events. The foundation of an empire once rested on jin-shei and its customs. It connected women from every walk of life and formed a bond that empowered every woman who swore the oath. The advancement of printing, the developments of technology and the changes in society have seemed to improve the daily lives of the underclass, but women have been stripped of this sacred pact. Amais is heir to her poet-ancestress's manuscripts and journals.

The journals are all in jin-ashu, the women's tongue, taught sketchily to Amais by her mother. Amais has the clear vision of an outsider looking in. Combined with her deep and instinctive bond to her ancestors and her culture, she determines to reinvent the Women's Country and bring the jin-shei back. But just as her crusade begins, she and her family are caught up in the storm of history: the whirlwind of the Golden Rising - a people's revolution that is fated to destroy much that was once valuable, gracious and beautiful. "The Embers of Heaven" is a magical epic, with delightful characters, an intriguing scenario and a real feeling of place and history. It has a wonderful combination of character, romantic lives, and spiritual quest, set against a credible historical background.

    Get it on Google Play

"This book is a complete original - and a completely magical piece of writing." - Joanne Harris


Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Moon in the Palace
(Empress of Bright Moon Duology, book 1)
Weina Dai Randel
thumb
The Empress of Bright Moon
(Empress of Bright Moon Duology, book 2)
Weina Dai Randel

Used availability for Alma Alexander's The Embers of Heaven

Hardback Editions

January 2006 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-720406-X / 978-0-00-720406-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

February 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-615-96534-2 / 978-0-615-96534-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-733512-1 / 978-0-00-733512-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2006 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-720407-8 / 978-0-00-720407-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2006 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-722189-4 / 978-0-00-722189-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2012 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2010 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK