New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Embers of Heaven

(2006)
(The second book in the Jin-Shei series)
A novel by

 

"This book is a complete original - and a completely magical piece of writing."
Joanne Harris


A rich, magical saga, set in eighteenth-century China, which will appeal to fans of Joanne Harris and Amy Tan. In The Secrets of Jin-Shei, eight women pledge themselves as sisters in the name of jin-shei, the unbreakable bond, the promise that lasts a lifetime. This sisterhood shapes their lives, their country and their world. "The Embers of Heaven" begins four hundred years later. In eighteenth-century Syai, and its capital city of Linh-an, things have changed beyond recognition. On the face of it, women are more equal than they have ever been. But the men run the machines, the factories, and the technology. Women have lost the ability to weave their fates and influence the course of events. The foundation of an empire once rested on jin-shei and its customs. It connected women from every walk of life and formed a bond that empowered every woman who swore the oath. The advancement of printing, the developments of technology and the changes in society have seemed to improve the daily lives of the underclass, but women have been stripped of this sacred pact. Amais is heir to her poet-ancestress's manuscripts and journals.

The journals are all in jin-ashu, the women's tongue, taught sketchily to Amais by her mother. Amais has the clear vision of an outsider looking in. Combined with her deep and instinctive bond to her ancestors and her culture, she determines to reinvent the Women's Country and bring the jin-shei back. But just as her crusade begins, she and her family are caught up in the storm of history: the whirlwind of the Golden Rising - a people's revolution that is fated to destroy much that was once valuable, gracious and beautiful. "The Embers of Heaven" is a magical epic, with delightful characters, an intriguing scenario and a real feeling of place and history. It has a wonderful combination of character, romantic lives, and spiritual quest, set against a credible historical background.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Secret River
(Thornhill Family, book 1)

Kate Grenville

Purge
Sofi Oksanen

The Distant Land of My Father
Bo Caldwell

The Keeper of Secrets
(Horowitz family, book 1)

Julie Thomas
 
Used availability for Alma Alexander's The Embers of Heaven


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

January 2006 : UK Hardback
Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-720406-X / 978-0-00-720406-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

February 2014 : USA Paperback
Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-615-96534-2 / 978-0-615-96534-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2009 : UK Paperback
Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-733512-1 / 978-0-00-733512-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2006 : UK Paperback
Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-720407-8 / 978-0-00-720407-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2006 : UK Paperback
Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-722189-4 / 978-0-00-722189-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

June 2016 : USA Audio edition
Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   

June 2016 : UK Audio edition
Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

March 2012 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Sky Warrior Book Publishing, LLC.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

June 2010 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Embers of Heaven
Author(s): Alma Alexander
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for