Anthony Armstrong

(George Anthony Armstrong Willis)
UK flag (1897 - 1976)

Anthony Armstrong was a British author of historical and crime novels, humorous short stories and plays, and radio and film scripts. Anthony Armstrong flourished from 1924 to 1976 and was known for writing in several literary genres, including historical, humorous, crime, and country novels; humorous short stories; drama; non-fiction works; and film and radio scripts. (George) Anthony Armstrong Willis was born on January 2, 1897, in Esquimalt, British Columbia, son of George Hughlings Armstrong Willis, a naval officer, and Adela Emma Temple (Frere). Although born in Canada he spent the majority of his life in England. He married Francis Monica Sealy in 1926. They had two daughters and one son. He was educated at Uppingham and Trinity College, Cambridge. During the years 1915-1925, he served in the British Royal Air Force. In 1940 he founded the R.A.F. training magazine Tee Emm, and served as its editor until its demise in 1946. After leaving the service in 1925, Willis settled in Haslemere, Surrey, England. He began writing for Punch in 1924 and at that time began using the pseudonym, Anthony Armstrong. From the 1930s through the 1960s he wrote several novels and also many humorous works and plays, some of which were adapted for radio. His articles and short stories were published in such periodicals as New Yorker, County Fair, Strand, Daily Mail, Evening News, and Sunday Chronicle.During his lifetime he was a member of the Savage Club and received the award "Order of the British Empire" in 1944. He died February 10, 1976 in England. An obituary appeared in A. B. Bookman's Weekly, March 1, 1976.
Jimmie Rezaire
   Jimmie Rezaire (1927)
     aka The Trail of Fear
   The Secret Trail (1928)
   The Trail of the Lotto (1929)
   The Trail of the Black King (1931)
   The Poison Trail (1932)
no image available
   Lure of The Past (1920)
   The Love of Prince Raameses (1921)
   Wine of Death (1925)
   Patrick, Undergraduate (1926)
   Apple and Percival (1931)
   Britisher On Broadway (1932)
   Easy Warriors, Etc (1932)
   Ten Minute Alibi (1934) (with Herbert Shaw)
   Without Witness (1934) (with Harold Simpson)
   Cottage Into House (1936)
   The Pack of Pieces (1942)
     aka The Naughty princess
   The End of the Road (1943)
   When the Bells Rang (1943) (with Bruce Graham)
   When the Bells Ring (1943) (with Bruce Graeme)
   No Higher Mountain (1951)
   He Was Found in the Road (1952)
   Spies in Amber (1956)
     aka The Room at the Hotel Ambre
   The Strange Case of Mr. Pelham (1957)
   One Jump Ahead (1972)
no image availableno image availableno image availableno image available
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
no image availableno image availableno image availableno image available
no image availablethumbthumb
no image available
Novellas and Short Stories
   Well Caught (1932)
no image available
Anthologies edited
   While You Wait (1933)
no image available
Plays show
Non fiction show
Anthologies containing stories by Anthony Armstrong
The Mammoth Book Of New Comic Fantasy (2005)
(The Mammoth Book of ...)
edited by
Mike Ashley
Darkness Rising 2005 (2005)
(Darkness Rising, book 9)
edited by
L H Maynard and M P N Sims
The Mammoth Book of Seriously Comic Fantasy (1999)
(The Mammoth Book of ...)
edited by
Mike Ashley

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors