New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

Deborah Rising

Deborah Rising

A Novel Inspired by the Bible
A novel by

Set in ancient Israel, Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the dramatic (and unlikely) rise of the first woman to lead a nation in recorded human history. In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring a courageous 14-year-old girl who would become the most powerful woman in biblical lore.
Before he was murdered, Deborah's father had dreamt that his daughter would one day become the leader of the Israelites. But the social and religious mores of her time dictated that a girl must marry--even against her will--and obey her husband in all matters. When Deborah is forced to marry the violent son of the local judge, she rebels, determined to forge a path of her own.
Captivated by the notion of escaping the arranged marriage and fulfilling her late father's dream, Deborah embarks upon an epic journey to find a mysterious elixirist, one rumored to be blessed with the ability to turn women into men. It is a journey that proves increasingly perilous--filled with wild beasts, lustful men, unscrupulous priests, and warring tribesmen. Yet Deborah manages to attract unlikely allies, including lepers, slaves, Moabite traders, and even a dead tiger, while she persists in the face of seemingly insurmountable setbacks and continues to pursue her daring quest.
Part historical novel, part adventure story, part visionary fiction, Deborah Rising is a captivating tale about a girl on the cusp of womanhood, whose unrelenting struggle to overcome discrimination, sexism, and paternalism speaks to the lives of girls and women today.

Used availability for Avraham Azrieli's Deborah Rising

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Deborah Rising: A Novel Inspired by the Bible
Author(s): Avraham Azrieli
Publisher: HarperLegend
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for