New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Deborah Rising

(2016)
A Novel Inspired by the Bible
(A book in the Deborah Rising series)
A novel by

 
Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the early events in the dramatic rise of the first woman to lead a nation in human history. (First book in a series) In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Alchemist, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring a courageous 14-year-old girl who would become the most powerful woman in biblical lore. Part historical novel, part adventure story, part visionary fiction, Deborah Rising is a captivating tale about a girl on the cusp of womanhood, whose unrelenting struggle to overcome discrimination, abuse, and paternalism speaks to the lives of girls and women today.
"Spine-tingling, gripping, even bloodcurdling! You will be transported to a front row view of one of the most compelling stories in Biblical history. This is one of those rare stay-up-all-night-to read novels that you cannot put down. Deborah's courage and resolve will live on with you after you turn the last page."Glenna Salsbury, CSP, CPAE Speaker Hall of Fame.
Long before Joan of Arc, Cleopatra, and the Queen of Sheba, there was Deborah - a judge, a prophet, and a military leader who liberated her people from foreign oppression and ruled over Israel for forty peaceful years. Who was Deborah and where had she come from? How could a girl, growing up in a world controlled by men, rise to rule over them? What hardships forged her formidable tenacity, what setbacks hardened her resilience, and what challenges honed her skills? These are the fascinating mysteries unraveled by Deborah Rising and its sequels.
Early reviews for Deborah Rising:
"A stunning historical fantasy-an epic journey that no reader could guess. It's unlike anything I have read. Realistically told and captured the time period perfectly-can be read by teens and adults." Urban Lit Magazine
"The story of this young woman has moved me emotionally, spiritually, and has inspired me. Highly Intriguing." Hollywood Book Reviews
"Deborah Rising is a perfect read for history enthusiasts. Riveting!" The US Review of Books
"Azrieli manages to vividly recreate the milieu of a story filled with biblical history, myths, fanaticism and sexism-Deborah, for all the tragedies she has endured, continues to survive while never losing faith. A seductive saga, peopled with a fascinating array of characters." Bookpleasures
"This enthralling story gives the reader an amazing insight into what life was really like for women at a fascinating time in history. I found this book absolutely absorbing!" The English Informer
"Azrieli sets down a captivating fictionalized life story for this incredible woman. Believable and engrossing-chronicling the life of one of the Bible's and history's greatest women." Pacific Book Review
"Rich description and engaging dialogue bring the story of Deborah to life. Though she lived long ago, her struggles will no doubt resonate with today's readers.The book is a page-turner, there are no lulls. Full of suspenseful adventure!" Oak Tree Reviews
"No story has ever hooked me right at the beginning quite like this one - Deborah's epic survival adventure as a Hebrew girl coming of age in biblical times. The character development was spot on, the descriptions of the sites and geography felt real and accurate, the action narration was vivid, involving all the senses within the imageries. It's entertaining, suspenseful, and heart wrenching - definitely a five-star captivating page-turner! Can't wait for the second book!" Susan Violante, The Reader Views

 
Similar Books by other authors...


Last Light
(Restoration, book 1)

Terri Blackstock

The Baker's Wife
Erin Healy
thumb
Demas Revelation
Shane Johnson

False Pretenses
(Secrets of Roux River Bayou, book 1)

Kathy Herman
 
Used availability for Avraham Azrieli's Deborah Rising


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Deborah Rising
Author(s): Avraham Azrieli
ISBN: 0-06-267370-X / 978-0-06-267370-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLegend
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Deborah Rising: A Novel Inspired by the Bible
Author(s): Avraham Azrieli
Publisher: HarperLegend
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for