New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Deborah Rising

(2016)
A Novel Inspired by the Bible
A novel by

 
Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the dramatic rise of the first woman to lead a nation in human history.
"Spine-tingling, gripping, even bloodcurdling! You will be transported to a front row view of one of the most compelling stories in Biblical history. This is one of those rare stay-up-all-night-to read novels that you cannot put down. Deborah's courage and resolve will live on with you after you turn the last page."Glenna Salsbury, CSP, CPAE Speaker Hall of Fame.
"A stunning historical fantasy...an epic journey that no reader could guess. It's nothing like anything I have read. Realistically told and captured the time period perfectly-can be read by teens and adults."Urban Lit Magazine
"Deborah Rising is a perfect read for Bible and history enthusiasts. Riveting!" The US Review of Books
"The story of this young woman has moved me emotionally, spiritually, and has inspired me to re-connect with historical persons from biblical times by conducting my own research and studies. Highly Intriguing."Hollywood Book Reviews
"Azrieli manages to vividly recreate the milieu of the story filled with biblical history, myths, fanaticism and sexism-he never condescends in sentimentalizing Deborah, who for all the tragedies she has endured, continues to survive while never losing faith. A seductive saga-peopled with a fascinating array of characters." Bookpleasures
"This enthralling story gives the reader an amazing insight into what life was really like for women at a fascinating time in history. I found this book absolutely absorbing and highly recommend it." The English Informer
"Not much is known about Deborah, but Azrieli sets down a captivating fictionalized life story for this incredible woman. Believable and engrossing-chronicling the life of one of the Bible's and history's greatest women."Pacific Book Review

"Rich description and engaging dialogue bring the story of Deborah to life. Though she lived long ago, her struggles will no doubt resonate with today's readers. The book is a page-turner, there are no lulls. Full of suspenseful adventure!" Oak Tree Reviews
"Deborah is strong, and her story is a compelling one. Azrieli does a masterful job at building up a tale that feels true to history. Realistic and vivid!"San Francisco Book Review.
"Avraham Azrieli depicts the early life of the ancient biblical prophet Deborah in an insightful, imaginative, and riveting manner."Rabbi Israel Drazin, PhD.
In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring a courageous 14-year-old girl who would become the most powerful woman in biblical lore. Part historical novel, part adventure story, part visionary fiction, Deborah Rising is a captivating tale about a girl on the cusp of womanhood, whose unrelenting struggle to overcome discrimination, abuse, and paternalism speaks to the lives of girls and women today.
"No story has ever hooked me right at the beginning quite like this one - Deborah's epic survival adventure as a Hebrew girl coming of age in biblical times. The character development was spot on, the descriptions of the sites and geography felt real and accurate, the action narration was vivid, involving all the senses within the imageries. It's entertaining, suspenseful, and heart wrenching - definitely a five-star captivating page-turner! Can't wait for the second book!" Susan Violante, The Reader Views

 
Used availability for Avraham Azrieli's Deborah Rising


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Deborah Rising
Author(s): Avraham Azrieli
ISBN: 0-06-267370-X / 978-0-06-267370-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Legend
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Deborah Rising: A Novel Inspired by the Bible
Author(s): Avraham Azrieli
Publisher: HarperLegend
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for