New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Cooking for Picasso

Cooking for Picasso

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.

"A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking." - Margaret Atwood, via Twitter

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request - to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he's secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.

Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life - and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.

New York, present day: Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who's come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mothers enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Cote d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future.

Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.

Praise for Cooking for Picasso

"Intrigue, art, food, and deception are woven together in a tale of love and betrayal around the life and legacy of Picasso. Touching and true, this well-written narrative made me long for my mother's coq au vin and for the sun of Juan-les-Pins." - Jacques Pepin, chef, TV personality, author

"Intriguing and insightful, the sensory details alone will have you thinking you're reading the pages seated at a seaside cafe in the South of France." - Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life

"[A] delicious, atmospheric novel . . . You'll be glad you're along for the ride." - People (Pick for "The Best New Books")

"[A] colorful family saga . . . Cooking for Picasso is . . . about how people take what seems to be worthless and make it into something priceless. . . . The characters in Camille Aubray's debut novel illustrate . . . that value lies not in what you own, but in who you are." - The Washington Post

"This richly crafted tale of love, trust, art and food is wonderfully evocative of the sun-kissed Cote d'Azur, while weaving in a modern-day mystery. . . . Ideal for whiling away some time en vacances on the Riviera." - France Today

"[A] sweet summer escape." - Cosmopolitan

Genre: General Fiction    

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Camille Aubray's Cooking for Picasso

Hardback Editions

August 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso: A Novel
Author(s): Camille Aubray
ISBN: 0-399-17765-5 / 978-0-399-17765-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso: A Novel
Author(s): Camille Aubray
ISBN: 0-399-17766-3 / 978-0-399-17766-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2016 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso (Random House Large Print)
Author(s): Camille Aubray
ISBN: 1-5247-0340-0 / 978-1-5247-0340-0
Publisher: Random House Large Print Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso: A Novel
Author(s): Camille Aubray
ISBN: 0-7352-8669-8 / 978-0-7352-8669-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso: A Novel
Author(s): C A Belmond
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

August 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cooking for Picasso: A Novel
Author(s): Camille Aubray
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA