book cover of The Case of the Curious Cook
Added by 16 of our members
 

The Case of the Curious Cook

(2016)
(The third book in the WISE Enquiries Agency Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES.

Perfect for fans of Stella Cameron, Faith Martin, Agatha Christie, Frances Evesham, Betty Rowlands, or M.C. Beaton.

TOO MANY COOKS SPOIL THE BROTH, BUT DO TOO MANY DETECTIVES?

Henry Twyst, eighteenth Duke of Chellingworth, is terribly worried about some water damage to the priceless books in his library and hires a local book restorer to tackle the repairs.

The antiquarian also runs the Crooks and Cooks bookshop with his daughter — local TV celebrity chef, The Curious Cook.

When the book restorer mentions some strange shenanigans going on at the book shop, Dowager Duchess Althea brings the case to the women of the WISE Enquiries Agency.

Just as they are trying to solve one case, they get embroiled in another. They come across a valuable book of miniatures which seems to be the work of a famous local artist, who was murdered by her own brother.

Are the cases linked and why do both mysteries lead to a nearby old folks’ home?

The WISE women are on the case — and nothing will get in their way . . .

THE DETECTIVES
The WISE Enquiries Agency consists of Mavis, Annie, Carol and Christine. One is Welsh, one Irish, one Scottish and one English, hence the name. Drawn together by chance – and a killer – the women of the WISE Enquiries Agency turned their backs on their previous careers to work together to help others. Combining their unique skills, and revelling in their differences, they’re doing their best to make the business succeed. But being private investigators isn’t a bed of roses – there are bills to pay, clients to be managed, and dangers to be faced. Can they manage to do it all, and survive?

PRAISE FOR THIS SERIES

Cozy fans will enjoy their chitchat as much as their sleuthing.” Publishers Weekly

“An utterly charming country house mystery with modern touches.” Crimefictionlover

“A delightful new cozy series with a lovely setting and four loveable heroines.” cayocosta72

"Charming, quirky and completely entertaining!" Hank Phillippi Ryan

"Start with an irresistible premise, confound expectations with four top-notch characters, and we're off." Catriona McPherson

“A gratifying contemporary series in the traditional British manner with hilarious repercussions. Cozy fans will anticipate learning more about these WISE ladies.” Library Journal Starred Review

THE WISE ENQUIRIES AGENCY MYSTERIES
Book 1: THE CASE OF THE DOTTY DOWAGER
Book 2: THE CASE OF THE MISSING MORRIS DANCER
Book 3: THE CASE OF THE CURIOUS COOK
Book 4: THE CASE OF THE UNSUITABLE SUITOR

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Used availability for Cathy Ace's The Case of the Curious Cook

Hardback Editions

September 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Case of the Curious Cook (Wise Enquiries Agency Mystery)
Author(s): Cathy Ace
ISBN: 0-7278-9590-7 / 978-0-7278-9590-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Case of the Curious Cook: 3 (Wise Enquiries Agency Mystery)
Author(s): Cathy Ace
ISBN: 0-7278-8668-1 / 978-0-7278-8668-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Case of the Curious Cook, The: Severn House Publishers: 3 (A WISE Enquiries Agency Mystery)
Author(s): Cathy Ace
ISBN: 1-84751-771-4 / 978-1-84751-771-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: THE CASE OF THE CURIOUS COOK a cozy Welsh murder mystery full of twists (WISE Enquiries Agency Mysteries Book 3)
Author(s): CATHY ACE
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thrillers and cozy mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU