New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Nesting


A collection of stories by

David Almond is now known around the world as the author of the novels Skellig, Kit's Wilderness and The Savage. His first two books - Sleepless Nights (1985) and A Kind of Heaven (1997) - were published by Iron Press, a selection of which appears in Nesting alongside two previously unpublished tales. The stories draw deeply from the Tyneside estate of Almond's childhood, exploring the themes that would inform his later work, and displaying all the rhythm, lyricism and drive for which he is acclaimed today.

"A master storyteller."
The Independent

"There is nobody quite like Almond writing in adults' or children's fiction today. A writer of visionary, Blakean intensity."
The Times

"David Almond's books are strange, unsettling wild things. They are, like all great literature, beyond classification."
The Guardian

David Almond was born in Newcastle upon Tyne. His many awards include the Whitbread Children's Book Award (twice), the Carnegie Medal and the Hans Christian Andersen Award. My Name is Nina, the prequel to Skellig, was published in 2010. His books have been translated into over 40 languages, and adapted for both stage and screen. He now lives in Northumberland.


Similar books by other authors

Used availability for David Almond's Nesting

Paperback Editions

May 2013 : UK Paperback

Title: Nesting
Author(s): David Almond
ISBN: 0-9565725-7-X / 978-0-9565725-7-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: IRON Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2013 : UK Kindle edition

Title: Nesting
Author(s): David Almond
Publisher: Iron Press
Availability: Amazon UK