book cover of The Lost Daughter
Added by 1 of our members

The Lost Daughter

(2017)
(The second book in the Jean Brash Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes - meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.

After Mistress of the Just Land, the second adventure in David Ashton's Jean Brash series....

A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set Inspector James McLevy on the prowl, and Jean's past returns in the shape of the avenging son of a man she has long ago been accused of poisoning.

Even more lethally, her own lost family life resurrects in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that gnaws at the very root of her identity.

All this grounded in Leith's gritty backdrop - the rich exotic world of the theatre meeting the harsh reality of the streets.

Past, present and future - this unholy trinity collide to overwhelm the world of Jean Brash and involve her in a tale where the abandoned child inside her demands the right to grieve as well as feel some fractured, fleeting joy.

By the end, a chapter of Jean's life may close and a new future might be signalled in other lands and other countries....

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Tombland
(Shardlake, book 7)
C J Sansom
thumb
The Gaslight Stalker
(Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries, book 1)
David Field
thumb
The Candlelit Coffin
(Lady Fan Mystery, book 4)
Elizabeth Bailey

Used availability for David Ashton's The Lost Daughter

Hardback Editions

October 2018 : UK Hardback

Title: The Lost Daughter
Author(s): David Ashton
ISBN: 1-4448-3830-X / 978-1-4448-3830-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Charnwood
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
ISBN: 1-4736-3229-3 / 978-1-4736-3229-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon   


September 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery, Book 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery, Book 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon CA