New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Lost Daughter

(The second book in the Jean Brash Mystery series)
A novel by


After Mistress of the Just Land, the second adventure in David Ashton's Jean Brash series...
A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set Inspector James McLevy on the prowl, and Jean's past returns in the shape of the avenging son of a man she has long ago been accused of poisoning.
Even more lethally, her own lost family life resurrects in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that gnaws at the very root of her identity.
All this grounded in Leith's gritty backdrop - the rich exotic world of the theatre meeting the harsh reality of the streets.
Past, present and future - this unholy trinity collide to overwhelm the world of Jean Brash and involve her in a tale where the abandoned child inside her demands the right to grieve as well as feel some fractured, fleeting joy.
By the end, a chapter of Jean's life may close and a new future might be signalled in other lands and other countries...

Genre: Historical Mystery
Used availability for David Ashton's The Lost Daughter

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
ISBN: 1-4736-3229-3 / 978-1-4736-3229-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

September 2017 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2
Author(s): David Ashton
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for