New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Divorce Turkish Style

Divorce Turkish Style

(2015)
(The third book in the Kati Hirschel series)
A novel by

 
 
Praise for Esmahan Aykol:

"Kati could be the love child of Miss Marple and NPR's Andrei Codrescu. It doesn't matter who done it. What matters is that Aykol uses the genre to tell us more about the world than we're used to." - Newsday

"An offbeat amateur sleuth with a distinctive narrative voice. Fans of Amanda Cross's Kate Fansler and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher will find a lot to like." - Publishers Weekly

Kati owns Istanbul's only mystery book store and, as usual, gets involved in a case that is none of her business. Every day, a beautiful woman lunches alone in the restaurant next to the bookstore. When the woman is found dead in her apartment, Kati immediately recognizes the stranger from the restaurant in images in the newspaper photos. Although the police believe it was an accident, Kati suspects something more sinister has happened. Sani Ankaraligil was an attractive young woman and a politically active ecologist in the middle of a divorce from her wealthy husband. So who would benefit from her death? The industrial companies Sani had accused of polluting the rivers of western Turkey, or her jealous husband seeking revenge through an honor killing, or a Thracian separatist group? The investigation pulls Kati into murkier waters: the marriage may have been a sham, designed to cover up Sani's husband's homosexuality . . . the role of her mother-in-law goes from distasteful to outright criminal.

Genre: Mystery    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Useful Woman
(Rosalind Thorne Mystery, book 1)
Darcie Wilde
thumb
A Midsummer's Equation
(Detective Galileo, book 3)
Keigo Higashino

Used availability for Esmahan Aykol's Divorce Turkish Style

Paperback Editions

September 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Divorce Turkish Style (Kati Hirschel Istanbul Murder Mystery)
Author(s): Esmahan Aykol
ISBN: 1-908524-57-X / 978-1-908524-57-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Divorce Turkish Style (Kati Hirschel Murder Mystery)
Author(s): Esmahan Aykol
Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA