book cover of Saltwater
Added by 2 of our members

Saltwater

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
WINNER OF THE PORTICO PRIZE

'A distinctive new voice for fans of 'Fleabag' or Sally Rooney' Independent

'Raw, intimate and authentic' The Sunday Times

'Gorgeous . . . Andrews's writing is transportingly voluptuous, conjuring tastes and smells and sounds like her literary godmother, Edna O'Brien.' New York Times

When Lucy wins a place at university, she thinks London will unlock her future. It is a city alive with pop up bars, cool girls and neon lights illuminating the Thames at night. At least this is what Lucy expects, having grown up seemingly a world away in working-class Sunderland, amid legendary family stories of Irish immigrants and boarding houses, now defunct ice rinks and an engagement ring at a fish market.

Yet Lucy's transition to a new life is more overwhelming than she ever expected. As she works long shifts to make ends meet and navigates chaotic parties from East London warehouses to South Kensington mansions, she still feels like an outsider among her fellow students. When things come to a head at her graduation, Lucy takes off for Ireland, seeking solace in her late grandfather's cottage and the wild landscape that surrounds it, wondering if she can piece together who she really is.

Lyrical and boundary-breaking, Saltwater explores the complexities of mother-daughter relationships, the challenges of shifting class identity and the way that the strongest feelings of love can be the hardest to define.

'Luminous' Observer

'Lyrically poetic' Evening Standard

'Disarmingly honest . . . I wish I had read this when I was 19.' Guardian

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"This book is sublime. It dares to be different, to look in a different way. Andrews is not filling anyone's shoes, she is destroying the shoes and building them from scratch." - Daisy Johnson

"Reading Saltwater is an in-body experience. I felt like I had danced all night - awake, alive, good-sore-tired and something else - angry, really angry. Yes, this book showed me the parts of my past to keep but better than that it showed me the parts I must burn to be free." - Carmen Marcus

"A book of breathtaking beauty. Saltwater is a visionary novel with prose that gets deep under your skin. The short, sharp chapters thrum with life. Lucy is a memorable character, her journey one that is moving and totally compelling, telling a series of deep truths about the state of our divided nation. Andrews is a major new voice in contemporary British fiction." - Alex Preston


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Shine, Pamela! Shine!
(Out of Line collection)
Kate Atkinson

Used availability for Jessica Andrews's Saltwater

Hardback Editions

January 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Saltwater: A Novel
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
ISBN: 0-374-25380-3 / 978-0-374-25380-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
ISBN: 1-4736-8277-0 / 978-1-4736-8277-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Saltwater: A Novel
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
ISBN: 1-250-78564-2 / 978-1-250-78564-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
ISBN: 1-4736-8280-0 / 978-1-4736-8280-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
ISBN: 1-4736-8278-9 / 978-1-4736-8278-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater: A Novel
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater: A Novel
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater: A Novel
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize
Author(s): Jessica Andrews
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU