book cover of None but the Dead
Added by 85 members

None but the Dead

(Book 11 in the Rhona MacLeod series)
A novel by

2017 McIlvanney Prize (nominee)

None but the Dead is the thrilling eleventh book in Lin Anderson's forensic crime series featuring Rhona MacLeod.

Sanday, one of Britain's northernmost islands, inaccessible when the wind prevents the ferry crossing from the mainland, or fog grounds the tiny, island-hopping plane.

When human remains are discovered to the rear of an old primary school, forensic expert Dr Rhona MacLeod and her assistant arrive to excavate the grave. Approaching midwinter, they find daylight in short supply, the weather inhospitable and some of the island's inhabitants less than co-operative. When the suspicious death of an old man in Glasgow appears to have links with the island, DS Michael McNab is dispatched to investigate. Desperately uncomfortable in such surroundings, he finds that none of the tools of detective work are there. No internet, no CCTV, and no police station.

As the weather closes in, the team – including criminal profiler and Orkney native Professor Magnus Pirie – are presented with a series of unexplained incidents, apparently linked to the discovery of thirteen magic flowers representing the souls of dead children who had attended the island school where the body was discovered. But how and in what circumstance did they die? And why are their long forgotten deaths significant to the current investigation?

As a major storm approaches, bringing gale-force winds and high seas, the islanders turn on one another, as past and present evil deeds collide, and long buried secrets break the surface, along with the exposed bones.

Follow Rhona MacLeod in more forensic thrillers with
Follow the Dead, Sins of the Dead and Time for the Dead.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Lin Anderson's None but the Dead

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors