New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

First Chronicle of Prydain

First Chronicle of Prydain

Book of Three, Black Cauldron and Castle of Llyr
(A book in the Chronicles of Prydain series)
An omnibus of novels by

The tale of Taran, assistant pig keeper, has been entertaining young readers for generations. Set in the mythical land of Prydain (which bears a more than passing resemblance to Wales), Lloyd Alexander's book draws together the elements of the hero's journey from unformed boy to courageous young man. Taran grumbles with frustration at home in the hamlet Caer Dallben; he yearns to go into battle like his hero, Prince Gwydion. Before the story is over, he has met his hero and fought the evil leader who threatens the peace of Prydain: the Horned King. What brings the tale of Taran to life is Alexander's skillful use of humor, and the way he personalizes the mythology he has so clearly studied. Taran isn't a stick figure; in fact, the author makes a point of mocking him just at the moments when he's acting the most highhanded and heroic. When he and the young girl Eilonwy flee the castle of the wicked queen Achren, Taran emotes, "'Spiral Castle has brought me only grief; I have no wish to see it again.' 'What has it brought the rest of us?' Eilonway asked. 'You make it sound as though we were just sitting around having a splendid time while you moan and take on.'" By the end, Alexander has spun a rousing hero's tale and created a compelling coming-of-age story. Readers will sigh with relief when they realize The Book of Three is only the first of the chronicles of Prydain. --Claire Dederer

Used availability for Lloyd Alexander's First Chronicle of Prydain

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

November 2008 : USA Library Binding
Title: The Book of Three (The Chronicles of Prydain)
Author(s): Lloyd Alexander
ISBN: 1-4395-3309-1 / 978-1-4395-3309-3 (USA edition)
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

June 1986 : UK Paperback
Title: First Chronicle of Prydain: "Book of Three", "Black Cauldron" and "Castle of Llyr"
Author(s): Lloyd Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-617371-3 / 978-0-00-617371-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Distribution Services
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2006 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: The Book of Three (The Chronicles of Prydain)
Author(s): Lloyd Alexander
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Search for