New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Danish Queen

Danish Queen

(1978)
A novel by

 
 

How did a Danish princess become the so-called first queen of Great Britain?

Anne of Holstein is perhaps the least-known Queen Consort in Britain's history. But her marriage to James I saw her become key to the legacy of the Stuarts.

From her homeland of Denmark, Anne travelled to Scotland - a place she had heard tales about of ruthless and bloodthirsty people - and met her betrothed. A teenage Anne was infatuated with her match. They married and bore children, but as the Princess grew to womanhood in the turbulent court of Scotland, she was subject to the unpredictable behaviour of her husband. When Queen Elizabeth I died, James inherited the crown of England and was the first ruler to call himself 'King of Great Britain', and Anne the first queen.

The Danish Queen tells the story of a woman who crossed the sea and found love and power, but was fated to watch the tragic demise of her children, all of whom were to be haunted by the tragic destiny of the Stuarts.

It is a dramatic and enlightening account of the early years and marriage of a queen whose place in history is little known, and is perfect for fans of Anne O'Brien, Elizabeth Chadwick and Alison Weir.

Lynda M. Andrews, who also writes as Lyn Andrews, is the Sunday Times Number One bestselling author of over 34 sagas, and one of the top 100 bestselling authors in the UK. She was born and raised in Liverpool, which serves as the inspiration for many of her novels. She now divides her time between Merseyside and the Isle of Man, where she has lived for several years.

    

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Lynda M Andrews's Danish Queen

Hardback Editions

June 1978 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Danish Queen
Author(s): Lynda M Andrews
ISBN: 0-7091-6780-6 / 978-0-7091-6780-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Danish Queen
Author(s): Lynda M Andrews
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA