New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Ferry Girls

(2017)
(The first book in the Ferry Girls series)
A novel by

 
A young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Gosport's ferries in the height of World War 2 - but will her new friends desert her if her nationality comes to light? For fans of Daisy Styles and Sheila Newberry.

'Love, friendship, passion, drama and a cast of vibrant, authentic characters make this an exciting and enthralling read for all lovers of adventure, nostalgia and romance' Lancashire Evening Post

Vee Smith is 22 when she starts work on Gosport's ferries, taking a job left vacant by the men gone off to war. She soon makes friends with the other women workers, and together they enjoy nights out dancing in Gosport - keeping their spirits up despite the hard work, rationing and heavy bombing. Vee even feels herself falling for Sam, the skipper of the ferry and her unhappily married boss.

But Vee has a secret: her real name is Violetta Schmidt, and she is half-German. If her true nationality is discovered, she and her mother could find themselves interned as enemy aliens - if their German-hating neighbours, or worse, Eddie, the man Vee ran away from after he got her false papers, don't hurt them first.

Will Vee be able to keep her secret safe, and find some peace with Sam and her friends even in the midst of war?

Genre: Sagas
 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Telephone Girls
Jenny Holmes

The Land Girls at Christmas
Jenny Holmes

The Code Girls
Daisy Styles

The Bomb Girls' Secrets
(Bomb Girls, book 2)

Daisy Styles
 
Used availability for Rosie Archer's The Ferry Girls


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls (Ferry Girls 1)
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-78648-330-0 / 978-1-78648-330-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls (Ferry Girls 1)
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-78648-331-9 / 978-1-78648-331-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

June 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-5100-7403-1 / 978-1-5100-7403-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls, Book 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   

June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls, Book 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   

June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for