New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of The Ferry Girls

The Ferry Girls

(2017)
(The first book in the Ferry Girls series)
A novel by

 
A young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Gosport's ferries in the height of World War 2 - but will her new friends desert her if her nationality comes to light? For fans of Daisy Styles and Sheila Newberry.

'Love, friendship, passion, drama and a cast of vibrant, authentic characters make this an exciting and enthralling read for all lovers of adventure, nostalgia and romance' Lancashire Evening Post

Vee Smith is 22 when she starts work on Gosport's ferries, taking a job left vacant by the men gone off to war. She soon makes friends with the other women workers, and together they enjoy nights out dancing in Gosport - keeping their spirits up despite the hard work, rationing and heavy bombing. Vee even feels herself falling for Sam, the skipper of the ferry and her unhappily married boss.

But Vee has a secret: her real name is Violetta Schmidt, and she is half-German. If her true nationality is discovered, she and her mother could find themselves interned as enemy aliens - if their German-hating neighbours, or worse, Eddie, the man Vee ran away from after he got her false papers, don't hurt them first.

Will Vee be able to keep her secret safe, and find some peace with Sam and her friends even in the midst of war?

Genre: Sagas    

Similar Books by other authors...



Hardback Editions

June 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-78648-330-0 / 978-1-78648-330-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-78648-331-9 / 978-1-78648-331-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls
Author(s): Rosie Archer
ISBN: 1-5100-7403-1 / 978-1-5100-7403-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls, Book 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ferry Girls: Ferry Girls 1
Author(s): Rosie Archer
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for