book cover of The Last Concerto
Added by 3 of our members
 

The Last Concerto

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Famed for its natural beauty and rich history, Sardinia in 1968 is notorious, too, for the bandits who kidnap wealthy landowners for ransom. Eleven-year-old Alba Fresu's brother and her father, Bruno, are abducted by criminals who mistake Bruno for a rich man. After a gruelling journey through the countryside, the two are eventually released - but the experience leaves Alba shaken and unable to readjust to normal life, or to give voice to her inner turmoil.

Accompanying her mother to cleaning jobs, Alba visits the villa of an eccentric Signora and touches the keys of a piano for the first time. The instrument's spell is immediate. During secret lessons, forbidden by her mother, Alba is at last able to express emotions too powerful for words alone. Ignoring her parents' insistence that she work in the family's car dealership and marry a local boy, Alba accepts a scholarship to the Rome conservatoire. There she immerses herself in a vibrant world of art and a passionate affair.

But her path will lead her to a crossroads, and Alba will have to decide how to reconcile her talent with her longing for love and family, and convey the music of her heart....

Genre: Historical Romance

Used availability for Sara Alexander's The Last Concerto

Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Concerto: The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-827371-5 / 978-0-00-827371-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Concerto
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Concerto
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Concerto
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Concerto: The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU