New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Horses and Men

A collection of stories by

This early work by Sherwood Anderson was originally published in 1923 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. 'Horses and Men' is a collection of short stories that include 'A Chicago Hamlet', 'I'm a Fool', 'The Man Who Became a Woman', and many more. In 1908, Anderson began writing short stories and novels. He moved to Chicago, where he found work in an advertising agency and became friends with other writers in Chicago, including Floyd Dell, Theodore Dreiser, Ben Hecht and Carl Sandburg. Starting in 1914, the now-politicised Anderson began having his work published in 'The Masses', a socialist journal. Anderson's first novel, 'Windy McPherson's Son', was published in 1916. This was followed by the novel 'Marching Men' (1917) and a collection of prose poems, 'Mid-American Chants' (1918). A year later, 'Winesburg, Ohio' (1919), Anderson's best-remembered and best-known work, was published.

Used availability for Sherwood Anderson's Horses and Men

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

April 2001 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Horses and Men
Author(s): Sherwood Anderson
ISBN: 0-7426-5501-6 / 978-0-7426-5501-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Classic Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

April 2013 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Horses and Men
Author(s): Sherwood Anderson
ISBN: 1-4733-0329-X / 978-1-4733-0329-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Williamson Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for