New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Bottom of the List

A novel by

Adam Bittermouth is a paranoid recluse.

But he has found a way to make a fortune.

Roebuck University.

As a seat of learning it might get bottom marks but when money-grubbing bean counters replace the professors the students become craftily manipulated cash cows.

From his opulent high-tech headquarters in a tower 500 feet above the campus, Bittermouth monitors every eccentric move of staff and students via hidden cameras ... and dreams of the day when his money-spinning institution will be free of both.

Meanwhile, far below, a seething cauldron of political corruption, monstrous egos, existential terror, corporate bullying and murder is coming to the boil.

'Bottom of the List' is a hilarious story of academic life that introduces a memorable cast of comic and grotesque characters including the scary security guards Baz and Dave; the sex-mad failed poet Damion Dimmuck; Dr Duff with his paranoid terror of sick people; Mercedes Blonk, seducer of young men and radical theorist; and psychopathic dwarf, General Spinelli, a bloodstained South American dictator who enrols (at a price) to read (but misunderstand) classic literature.

As the plot unfolds Bittermouth's plan becomes clear - will future generations be educated or programmed?

'Bottom of the List' is a brilliantly imaginative fantasy thriller that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, William Gibson and Stephen King.

'A mesmerising read.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of The Lunar Code.

'Steve Attridge's blend of narrative, dialogue and character touches is writing of the highest quality. An extraordinary breadth of imagination.' - Neil Marr, publisher and writer.

Steve Attridge is an award-winning screen writer and novelist. His television dramas include Hawkins and The Boot Street Band.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Used availability for Steve Attridge's Bottom of the List

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

November 2009 : UK Paperback
Title: Bottom of the List
Author(s): Steve Attridge
ISBN: 1-906609-28-4 / 978-1-906609-28-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: BeWrite Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

March 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Bottom of the List
Author(s): Steve Attridge
Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for