book cover of Virginia\'s Vocation
Added by 1 of our members

Virginia's Vocation

(Book 19 in the Lockets and Lace series)
A Novella by

Will Virginia’s chosen vocation fill the empty spaces in her heart?

It is 1858. With both parents dead, Virginia Atwell lives with her older brother, Jefferson, and his family in Boonville, Missouri. Under a pseudonym, she secretly has been submitting articles to a well-respected investigative journal about controversial topics. To her dismay, she learns her family plans to buy new farmland in the wilds of central Kansas Territory, making it almost impossible for her to continue her clandestine article submissions. More importantly, Virginia is terrified of the prospect of living so close to hostile Indian tribes and dying by their hands because they resent white Americans moving onto their traditional buffalo hunting grounds.

Virginia’s brother, Jefferson, learns of her writings and decides it is time to get her out of Missouri. He yields to her persuasion and escorts her to Ohio so she may attend one of the few colleges in country that accept female students. There, she meets Avery Wilson, an aspiring writer, a teacher of two of her classes, and a fellow boarder at Drusilla Chilton’s boarding house. In spite of his impeccable politeness, Virginia cannot help but believe he disapproves of her.
Virginia’s publisher orders her to his office to discuss a special assignment. She must make a trip to St. Louis, but her landlady insists she cannot travel alone. Avery, curious about Virginia’s secretive meeting, and unable to resist his growing attraction to the irritating, but brilliant student, offers pose as her fiancé in order to escort her. While he is in St. Louis, he hopes to visit the Heartland Monthly offices to increase his chances the publisher will start accepting his submissions.

What happens when the publisher is not the only one shocked and dismayed to learn that the investigative journal’s star writer is a woman? Will Avery keep her secret? What about the assignment to visit the Kaw Reservation? Who will go to investigate and write the article? What will happen when the two return to Ohio?

Virginia’s Vocation is also part of the author’s Atwell Kin series:
Book 0 - Charlie’s Choice (Prequel)
Book 1 - Virginia’s Vocation
Book 2 - Kizzie’s Kisses
Book 3 - Otto’s Offer
Book 4 - Hannah’s Handkerchief – scheduled for release Spring, 2020
Book 5 - Lyman’s Rescue – scheduled for release Spring 2021
Each is a stand-alone sweet romance.

Genre: Historical Romance

Used availability for Zina Abbott's Virginia's Vocation

Paperback Editions

April 2019 : Paperback

Title: Virginia's Vocation (Lockets and Lace)
Author(s): Zina Abbott, Sweet Americana
ISBN: 1-09-633521-2 / 978-1-09-633521-4
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Virginia's Vocation (Lockets and Lace Book 19)
Author(s): Zina Abbott, Sweet Americana
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU