book cover of All the Bones in Brooks County, Texas
Added by 8 members
 

All the Bones in Brooks County, Texas

(2023)
(The first book in the Hondo and Magnolia series)
A novel by

 
 
From the screenwriter of SAVAGE SALVATION, starring Robert De Niro and John Malkovich, comes a thrilling new mystery series set on America's Southern Border.

How do you catch a killer when you can't even name his victims?

Hondo Velazquez was once a decorated Marine corporal, recognized for spearheading the capture of a killer in the poppy fields of Afghanistan. But now, having returned stateside to civilian life, he's taken a lowly job as a new deputy in Brooks County, Texas––a place where the border crisis has everyone on edge.

For Hondo, it feels like a demotion, but when the bones of a mother and her child are unearthed on a remote oil ranch, Hondo is dragged back into a world he thought he left behind. Violence, death, pain.

For a boy who grew up on the border, with blood mixed from both sides of the line, he feels a tribal drum-beat-calling to do what any dog does best:
dig.

For answers, for truth, for
justice.

Alone in this pursuit and ostracized from his fellow lawmen, Hondo must dig deep within himself to face a killer so close to home that it threatens to shake the foundations of everything he thinks he knows. And when he finally unearths the truth, he'll wish he never started digging in the first place.

ALL THE BONES is a gripping debut mystery series, perfect for fans of C.J. Box’s Joe Pickett, Craig Johnson’s Longmire, Michael Connelly's Bosch, and Jeff Carson’s David Wolf. Written by a Hollywood writer, each book in this series promises a cinematic experience that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

"★ ★ ★ ★ ★ MASTERFUL"
–Kirkus Reviews

"★ ★ ★ ★ �� My favorite mystery in a long, long time"
–Goodreads Review

"★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A home run"
–Amazon Review

"★ ★ ★ ★ ★ I would give it 100 STARS if I could"
–Goodreads Review

"★ ★ �� ★ ★ THE BOOK OF THE YEAR"
–Reader Review

Series List (can be read in any order):

Prequel:
Darkness in the Valley

Book 1:
ALL THE BONES IN BROOKS COUNTY, TEXAS

Book 2:
ALL THE BONES THEY LEFT BEHIND

Book 3:
ALL THE BONES HE CARRIED HOME (Coming Fall 2024)

Book 4:
ALL THE BONES BENEATH HER SKIN (Coming Spring 2025)

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Adam Taylor Barker's All the Bones in Brooks County, Texas


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors