New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
 
Awards
Edgar Awards Best Novel (nominee)
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and TheGirl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiance, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide - and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder - there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Genre: Mystery    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alafair Burke's The Ex

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239048-1 / 978-0-06-239048-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239049-X / 978-0-06-239049-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32816-4 / 978-0-571-32816-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32815-6 / 978-0-571-32815-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-244174-4 / 978-0-06-244174-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5046-9481-3 / 978-1-5046-9481-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Ex: Library Edition
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5046-9480-5 / 978-1-5046-9480-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA