New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Ex

(2016)
A novel by

 
Awards
Edgar Awards Best Novel (nominee)
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a 15-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiance, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide - and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder - there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for 20 years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Genre: Mystery
 
Similar Books by other authors...


What Remains of Me
Alison Gaylin

The Lost Girls
Heather Young

Under the Harrow
Flynn Berry

The Widow
Fiona Barton
 
Used availability for Alafair Burke's The Ex


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239048-1 / 978-0-06-239048-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239049-X / 978-0-06-239049-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32816-4 / 978-0-571-32816-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32815-6 / 978-0-571-32815-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-244174-4 / 978-0-06-244174-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

January 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5046-9480-5 / 978-1-5046-9480-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5046-9481-3 / 978-1-5046-9481-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

February 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Ex
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   

January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Ex: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for