New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Fortune's Fool

(The sixth book in the Notebooks of Pliny the Younger series)
A novel by

On the shores of beautiful Lake Como in Roman Italy, a Greek tragedy has taken place. Twenty years later, a skeleton falls out of a wall in Pliny's villa, bearing mute witness to family secrets and crimes.

Pliny the Younger is intelligent about everything but women. He agrees to his wife's and mother's wishes to marry off his lover, Aurora, to another slave, but neglects telling her until the wedding! To add to his problems, when building a wing onto his Lake Como villa, workmen discover a skeleton. As is Pliny's habit, he launches a scientific investigation of the crime, but soon receives anonymous warnings and threats to cease. Then his wife, Livia, is kidnapped!

. As in the earlier books, a glossary of Roman terms and a list of historic and fictional characters are included

Genre: Historical Mystery
Similar Books by other authors...

(Ancient Egyptian, book 6)

Wilbur Smith

A Rustle of Silk
(Gabriel Taverner Mystery, book 1)

Alys Clare

The Bookseller's Tale
(Oxford Medieval Mysteries, book 1)

Ann Swinfen

(Eagles of the Empire, book 15)

Simon Scarrow
Used availability for Albert A Bell Jr's Fortune's Fool

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Fortune's Fool: A Sixth Case from the Notebooks of Pliny the Younger
Author(s): Albert A Bell Jr
ISBN: 1-56474-587-2 / 978-1-56474-587-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Perseverance Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for