book cover of The Long Day Wanes

The Long Day Wanes

(A book in the Malayan Trilogy series)
An omnibus of novels by

Set in postwar Malaya at the time when people and governments alike are bemused and dazzled by the turmoil of independence, this three-part novel is rich in hilarious comedy and razor-sharp in observation. The protagonist of the work is Victor Crabbe, a teacher in a multiracial school in a squalid village, who moves upward in position as he and his wife maintain a steady decadent progress backward. A sweetly satiric look at the twilight days of colonialism.

Genre: General Fiction

Used availability for Anthony Burgess's The Long Day Wanes

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors