New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Consequences of War

Consequences of War

(1990)
A novel by

 
 

The changing lives of three women as their men are sent away to fight

Everyone remembered the summer of '39 as golden and strange. Golden because it was the driest on record; strange because people were burrowing holes and roofing them with iron. Waiting for the bombs...

In the Hampshire town of Markham, Georgia Kennedy wakes on her husband's last day in Civvy Street and feels elated. Conventionally married to the pompous Hugh, she discovers liberation during the war. Like other women, she embraces the camaraderie previously held back by gender and class. For Georgia, for rich, spoiled Eve, for salt-of-the-earth

Dolly, life will never be the same again.

Warm, witty and poignant, The Consequences of War confirms Betty Burton's reputation as a master storyteller, and is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Diney Costeloe or Rosie Harris.

    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Place to Call Home
(Nobody's Girl, book 2)
Tania Crosse

Used availability for Betty Burton's Consequences of War

Hardback Editions

December 1991 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Consequences of War (Windsor Selections)
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-86220-476-3 / 978-0-86220-476-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chivers Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


September 1990 : UK Hardback

Title: Consequences of War
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-246-13591-3 / 978-0-246-13591-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Grafton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

1990 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Consequences of War
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-261-67078-6 / 978-0-261-67078-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: DIAMOND BOOKS
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


October 1992 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Consequences of War (Paragon Softcover Large Print Books)
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-7451-3328-2 / 978-0-7451-3328-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chivers Large print (Chivers, Windsor, Paragon & C
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


February 1992 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Consequences of War
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-586-20873-9 / 978-0-586-20873-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Grafton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


September 1990 : UK Paperback

Title: Consequences of War
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 0-246-13608-1 / 978-0-246-13608-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Grafton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

April 1991 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: The Consequences of War: Unabridged
Author(s): Betty Burton
ISBN: 1-85496-437-2 / 978-1-85496-437-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Consequences of War
Author(s): Betty Burton
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA