New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

East of the Sun, West of the Moon

A novel by

Can you ever justify cheating on your husband?

This is the question that Leigh Fallon is faced with when she learns that her marriage to Congressman Bob Fallon is not as honest as she's always assumed. It feels like Bob has been all but ignoring her, except to criticize, and Leigh finds herself helplessly drawn to Erik, the twenty-something Norwegian exchange student who's staying in their home. When she finds proof that Bob has been spending his free time in the arms of his beautiful, young Capitol Hill secretary, Leigh decides that "enough is enough" and allows herself to begin a relationship with Erik.

Little does she know that her affair with the young Norwegian will change her life forever, setting in motion a series of events that bring tragedy, anguish, and ultimately a discovery of hidden strength and courage.

"Bellacera, whose first book, Border Crossings (1999), was a Romance Writers of America RITA nominee, tackles the subject of older woman-younger man in her latest contemporary romance. When 40-year-old Leigh O'Fallon discovers proof of her husband's infidelity, she feels bitterly betrayed. Turning to Erik Haukeland, the 29-year-old Norwegian exchange student staying with the O'Fallons, for comfort, Leigh begins a romantic relationship with Erik that winds up pointing out to Leigh how empty and unfulfilling her marriage has become. Forced to choose between her family and Erik, Leigh risks everything for love and changes her life forever. Bellacera handles her book's complex subject matter beautifully, and she writes honestly and realistically about the joys and sorrows Leigh experiences. Readers will be emotionally exhausted by the time they reach the book's conclusion, but they will also be thoroughly satisfied with this compellingly crafted story." -- John Charles, Booklist

"Bellacera (Border Crossings) sets this pleasingly melodramatic sudser on Capitol Hill and the fjords of Norway. domestic scenes between Leigh and the kids, rendered with casual ease, form a strong counterpoint to the moral problems Leigh must confront. As for the core theme how one balances responsibility to family with responsibility to oneself it should resonate with readers, many of whom are confronted with the same question on a daily basis. Border Crossings was a finalist in two categories for the Romance Writers of America's RITA Award; this new novel is written with similar assurance." -- Publisher's Weekly

"Carla Bellacera has written a fabulous relationship drama in which people make bad decisions for the right reasons, a practice that leads to heartache for everyone concerned. EAST OF THE SUN, WEST OF THE MOON is a beautiful love story that will appeal to fans of Belva Plain and Laura van Wormer." -- Harriet Klausner, The Best Reviews

"This powerful and moving novel held me enthralled and had me up far too late at night reading just one more chapter. Once I started reading, I simply couldn't stop until I'd finished. One moment I was laughing and the next crying in this highly emotional book. It most definitely is a must read. I thoroughly enjoyed it and eagerly look forward to Carole Bellacera's next book." -- Kathy Boswell, The Best Reviews

Used availability for Carole Bellacera's East of the Sun, West of the Moon

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

March 2002 : USA Hardback
Title: East of the Sun, West of the Moon
Author(s): Carole Bellacera
ISBN: 0-7862-3972-7 / 978-0-7862-3972-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

September 2001 : USA Hardback
Title: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Tom Doherty Associates Books)
Author(s): Carole Bellacera
ISBN: 0-7653-0079-6 / 978-0-7653-0079-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: East of the Sun, West of the Moon
Author(s): Carole Bellacera
ISBN: 1-4812-2303-8 / 978-1-4812-2303-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2002 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: East of the Sun, West of the Moon
Author(s): Carole Bellacera
ISBN: 0-7653-4029-1 / 978-0-7653-4029-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2011 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Author(s): Carole Bellacera
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for