book cover of Lights Out
Added by 1 of our members

Lights Out

(2014)
A novel by

 
 
"Fans of Donald Westlake and Elmore Leonard will enjoy this bright caper novel" by the USA Today - bestselling author of the Murder She Wrote series (Publishers Weekly).

Engineer Carlton Smythe feels bored in his marriage - and once he meets a mysterious woman in a bar during a trip to Buenos Aires, he becomes desperate to find the funds he needs to run off with her and start a whole new life far from his native Canada. That's when he comes up with an audacious moneymaking scheme that draws on his professional expertise. What would certain parties pay for advance knowledge of a massive US power outage?

But to pull it off, he will need to do business with some wholly undesirable criminal elements - and that's when things start to spin wildly out of control . . .

"A wonderful read." - Michael Palmer, New York Times - bestselling author

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Donald Bain has a wit and sense of fiction that I have encountered only in Elmore Leonard's best stuff. Lights Out! is a wonderful read." - Michael Palmer


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Gathering Dark
(Jessica Sanchez, book 1)
Candice Fox
thumb
An Ace and A Pair
(Dead Cold Mystery, book 1)
Blake Banner

Used availability for Donald Bain's Lights Out

Hardback Editions

November 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Lights Out! - A Heist Thriller Involving the Mafia
Author(s): Donald Bain
ISBN: 0-7278-9757-8 / 978-0-7278-9757-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Lights Out!
Author(s): Donald Bain
ISBN: 0-7278-8358-5 / 978-0-7278-8358-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lights Out!: A heist thriller involving the Mafia
Author(s): Donald Bain
ISBN: 1-84751-629-7 / 978-1-84751-629-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lights Out!
Author(s): Donald Bain
Publisher: Severn House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU