book cover of The Mortal Blow
Added by 14 of our members

The Mortal Blow

(2019)
(The fifth book in the Lady Fan Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
The intrepid Lady Fan is back! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Barbara Erskine and Jane Austen.

Lady Fan is back to full health but can she solve the trickiest case yet…?


1792, England



Lord Francis and Lady Ottilia Fanshawe are on their way home when their coach comes to a sudden stop.

A woman is standing in the middle of the road — covered in blood.

The woman refuses to speak but on further investigation they find the body of a man hidden in the woods.

Ottilia insists on bringing the woman home to find out what occurred.

But the more she finds out the more complicated the case becomes…

Who was the man in the woods? Did the blood-covered woman murder him?

Or did someone else strike The Mortal Blow…?

THE MORTAL BLOW is the fifth book in the Lady Fan Mystery series: historical romance murder mysteries with a courageous woman sleuth embarking on a traditional British, private investigation in eighteenth-century London.


‘The late Regency writer Georgette Heyer lives – and she's writing mysteries as Elizabeth Bailey!’ – Meritorious Mysteries

‘Ottilia is a strong, intelligent character with a real enthusiasm for detective work’ – She Reads Novels

‘They have everything you love in romances, plus continuing characters you can really come to love, and murders as well! Her heroine sleuth, Ottilia, is a fantastic character.’ – Historical Romance UK

LADY FAN HISTORICAL MYSTERY SERIES
BOOK ONE: The Gilded Shroud
BOOK TWO: The Deathly Portent
BOOK THREE: The Opium Purge
BOOK FOUR: The Candlelit Coffin
BOOK FIVE: The Mortal Blow
BOOK SIX: The Fateful Marriage
BOOK SEVEN: The Dagger Dance

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Elizabeth Bailey's The Mortal Blow

Paperback Editions

April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow (Lady Fan Mystery)
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
ISBN: 1-913028-33-X / 978-1-913028-33-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow Lib/E
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow: Lady Fan Mystery Series, Book 5
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow: Lady Fan Mystery Series, Book 5
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mortal Blow (Lady Fan Mystery Book 5)
Author(s): Elizabeth Bailey
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU