New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Golden Bird

The Golden Bird

Two Orkney Stories
A collection of stories by

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book
These two long stories are set, like most of George Mackay Brown's work, in Orkney and in a period, the last quarter of the nineteenth century, when the pattern of island life, little changed since Viking times, was beginning to be threatened. "The Golden Bird" tells the story of the slow decline of an island community: a scattered village dependant on the sea for its livelihood and at risk from it, a place subject to the peculiar tensions of isolation and the unsettling influence of new values. "The Life and Death of John Voe" looks at the life of a typical young Orkney man: after whaling and sailing and gold-mining he comes home to devote the rest of his days to a beautiful country girl. These stories are the creation of a very rich imagination, of a practised and skilful writer, but they also have the power and simplicity of the traditional ballad. They will delight Mackay Brown's fans.


Used availability for George Mackay Brown's The Golden Bird

Hardback Editions

May 1988 : USA Hardback

Title: The Golden Bird: Two Orkney Stories
Author(s): George MacKay Brown
ISBN: 0-8149-0939-6 / 978-0-8149-0939-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vanguard Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 1987 : UK Hardback

Title: The Golden Bird: Two Orkney Stories
Author(s): George Mackay Brown
ISBN: 0-7195-4385-1 / 978-0-7195-4385-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 2008 : UK Paperback

Title: The Golden Bird: Two Orkney Stories
Author(s): George Mackay Brown
ISBN: 1-84697-085-7 / 978-1-84697-085-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 1989 : UK Paperback

Title: Golden Bird
Author(s): George M Brown
ISBN: 0-586-20466-0 / 978-0-586-20466-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada / Adult Mm
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA