New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Golden Oriole

The Golden Oriole

Five Novellas
A collection of stories by

In this collection of five novellas, Bates contrasts two comic stories with the atmospheric title story, and includes a complex psychological tale alongside the romantically bleak.

'The Golden Oriole' features a fragile and troubled woman, frozen in a stultifying and unconsummated marriage, who finds her sensuality awakened by a virile admirer.

In 'The Ring of Truth', a man seeks to understand a disturbing and recurring dream, learns the truth about the lives and marriage of his parents, and in the process falls in love.

'The Quiet Girl' sees an isolated seamstress selfishly juggle two passionless affairs, only to fall in love with a man who is just interested in superficial romance.

'Mr Featherstone Takes a Ride' is a comic story featuring an amoral and easy-going swindler and an innocent hitchhiking philosophy student. And 'The World is Too Much With Us' is another comic tale about a reclusive man and a hen, who live together in domestic bliss until a buxom widow disrupts their eccentric liaison.

The collection also features bonus story 'Mademoiselle', the tale of a French maid, hired by an English family, and her romantic escapades.

Used availability for H E Bates's The Golden Oriole

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

May 1986 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Golden Oriole
Author(s): H E Bates
ISBN: 0-14-002255-4 / 978-0-14-002255-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Golden Oriole
Author(s): H E Bates
Publisher: Bloomsbury Reader
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for