New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

That Summer in Eagle Street

(1995)
A novel by

 
The tangled lives of an East End community bring friendship, romance and danger.

Harry Bowling's That Summer in Eagle Street is a wonderfully warm and authentic saga set in London in the aftermath of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Lizzie Lane and Pam Evans.

Eagle Street is a little backstreet off the Tower Bridge market, home to a close-knit community of diverse characters.

Dora and John Weston live in one of the small terraced houses with their five children. Amongst their neighbours are the two street gossips; Doris and Phyllis, who know everyone's business and aged Bill Simpson, who tends his pigeons and watches the glorious sunsets from the flat roof of Sunlight Buildings.

It was on this same roof in the summer of 1940 that Linda Weston first fell in love with Charlie Bradley - a childhood crush which has developed and stood the test of separation. Now Charlie has returned from having done his National Service, keen to make a good future with Linda. When they are both offered jobs by the notorious Carter brothers - local gang leaders - they jump at the chance. But the rival 'Kerrigan' gang hears of the Carters' success and decides that something needs to be done about it - putting Charlie and Linda at risk...

What readers are saying about That Summer in Eagle Street:

'Absolutely loved it! Loved the Cockney dialect too. Found myself hooked from the first page, it's almost like you become part of the community and know the characters personally. It's an excellent read'

'Harry Bowling was a brilliant writer. His characters were always believable and loveable'

    Get it on Google Play


Hardback Editions

May 1997 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7505-1063-3 / 978-0-7505-1063-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 1995 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street: A gripping saga of a community in post-war London
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7472-1588-X / 978-0-7472-1588-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street: A gripping saga of a community in post-war London
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7553-4031-0 / 978-0-7553-4031-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 1996 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street: A gripping saga of a community in post-war London
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7472-5196-7 / 978-0-7472-5196-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 1996 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street: Unabridged
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 1-86042-206-3 / 978-1-86042-206-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2012 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: That Summer in Eagle Street: A gripping saga of a community in post-war London
Author(s): Harry Bowling
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for