book cover of Waggoner\'s Way
Added by 3 of our members

Waggoner's Way

(1995)
A novel by

 
 
In a backstreet of East London, two families support each other through thick and thin.

Waggoner's Way is a poignant novel by much-loved author Harry Bowling that captures the spirit of a community often faced with brutal hardship - yet determined to laugh whilst doing so. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Dilly Court.

Waggoner's Way is a small back street in Bermondsey, home to a close-knit community of predominantly railway folk and their families. The Brennans and Kellys are among those who live there. They have been friends for years; Joe Brennan works as a train driver, Tom Kelly as a shunter; and Ada and Mary, their wives, patiently spend much of their time trying to untangle their children's tangled love lives. And, together, they help one another survive the worst of times.

What readers are saying about Waggoner's Way:

'I read this book in about three days! Fantastic, realistic, believable storytelling will have you rooting for the characters to overcome their hardships and will show the meaning of "love thy neighbour"'

'Just love Harry Bowling, he has a way of telling an East End story that makes it seem so real'

Genre: Sagas

Used availability for Harry Bowling's Waggoner's Way

Hardback Editions

September 1996 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7505-0984-8 / 978-0-7505-0984-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 1995 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7472-1294-5 / 978-0-7472-1294-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7553-4035-3 / 978-0-7553-4035-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 1995 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 0-7472-4827-3 / 978-0-7472-4827-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

December 1995 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: Unabridged (Waggoner's Way)
Author(s): Harry Bowling
ISBN: 1-86042-102-4 / 978-1-86042-102-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2011 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love
Author(s): Harry Bowling
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2011 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love
Author(s): Harry Bowling
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA