New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Unchained


The Story of Mike Starr and His Rise and Fall in Alice In Chains
A non fiction book by

Finally -- a book that uncovers the many mysteries...and much of the mystique of Alice In Chains. From "Rooster" to "Man In The Box" to "Down In A Hole" this band had a dark, raw knack for creating a Grunge Music sound that will stand the test of time. Read about its story from the beginning through the eyes of founding bass player, Mike Starr. The early poverty, the music, the fame, the women, the fans, the dangerous drug addictions, and the unfortunate decline. The story is told by Mike Starr, his family, and several of his close friends. It includes exclusive stories about: Sean Kinney, Layne Staley, Jerry Cantrell, Kurt Cobain and Courtney Love, Nirvana, Pauly Shore, Matt Dillon, Van Halen, Pearl Jam, and Evel Knievel.

It explores the question "How likely is Alice In Chains to make a comeback?" This book is a must-read for any Alice In Chains or Grunge Music fan.

"Unchained..." is the compelling story of Mike Starr's roller-coaster ride that packed more thrills and experiences into a few years than most people could have in 10 lifetimes. Find out: how Alice In Chains was first discovered, why 3,000 girlfriends weren't enough for Mike Starr, who punched out Kurt Cobain in Brazil, why heroin kills you when you overdose, why you'd rather be dead than quit, and what happened when Alice In Chains' lead singer, Layne Staley, insulted the Ku Klux Klan on stage in the heart of Louisiana. Hint: it wasn't pretty.


Used availability for John Brandon's Unchained

Paperback Editions

January 2001 : USA Paperback

Title: Unchained : The Story of Mike Starr and His Rise and Fall in Alice In Chains
Author(s): John Brandon
ISBN: 0-933638-10-8 / 978-0-933638-10-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Xanadu Enterprises
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK