book cover of The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan

The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan

(A book in the Boy Fortune Hunters series)
A novel by

The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan, published by Reilly & Britton in 1910, was Baum's fifth in a series appearing under the pseudonym, Floyd Akers. Once again, Sam Steele and his friends are after a vast treasure, this time among the people of Tcha, a city in the remote jungles of Yucatan, founded by a tribe from the lost continent of Atlantis. Throughout this adventurous tale, the boys must deal with dangers, including a violent earthquake, inter-tribal warfare, and betrayal by allies.

In this volume the boy fortune hunters team up with a Navy Lieutenant and a Central American Indian prince to find Tcha, a hidden Atlantean city in the heart of the Yucatan jungle. Equipped with lighter-than-air flying suits and electric stun-guns, fanciful inventions of Baum's fertile imagination, the group of nine adventurers take on two native Indian tribes and the secretive Atlantean culture to garner some of their fabulous wealth of gold and rubies. They overcome mosquitoes, warrior bands, blood sacrifices, and even an earthquake on their way to their goal.

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

Twinkle and Chubbins
(Twinkle Tales)
Laura Bancroft

Used availability for L Frank Baum's The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan

Paperback Editions

December 1998 : USA Paperback

Title: The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan (The boy fortune hunters series)
Author(s): L Frank Baum, Floyd Akers
ISBN: 0-9644988-9-8 / 978-0-9644988-9-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hungry Tiger Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan
Author(s): L Frank Baum
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU