New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Belly Dancing for Beginners

Belly Dancing for Beginners

(2007)
A novel by

 
"Byrski's forte is getting inside women's heads and hearts" Australian Women's Weekly Book of the Month

Gayle and Sonya are a study in contrasts: one reserved and cautious, the other confident and outspoken. But their very different lives will be turned upside down when they impulsively join a belly dancing class.

Marissa, their teacher, is sixty, sexy, and very much her own person, and as Gayle and Sonya learn about the origins and meaning of the dance, much more than their muscle tone begins to change. Gayle, crippled by the secrets at the heart of her marriage, is forced to face who and what she has become; the seriously single Sonya begins to explore her isolation from her family; and even Marissa, accustomed to seeing other women changed by the dance, must finally confront a horrifying event from her own past.

And then there are the men in their lives: Oliver, deeply confused about why his politically correct attitude to women never quite seems to work; Brian, blissfully unaware that he's sailing towards the rocks; and Frank, who's battling his own demons.

Belly Dancing for Beginners is a warm-hearted, moving, and often outright funny story of what can happen when women and men are brave enough to reveal who they really are.

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

 
Used availability for Liz Byrski's Belly Dancing for Beginners


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

2007 : UK Paperback
Title: Belly Dancing for Beginners
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 0-330-42345-2 / 978-0-330-42345-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2007 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Belly Dancing for Beginners
Author(s): Liz Byrski
Publisher: Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for