New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Last Chance Cafe

Last Chance Cafe

(2011)
A novel by

 
 
"Thought provoking characters ... an intelligent, engaging read" Sydney Morning Herald

Margot detests shopping malls. Any distraction is welcome, and the woman who has chained herself to the escalator, shouting about the perils of consumerism, is certainly that. She recognises Dot immediately - from their campaigning days, and further back still, to when Margot married Laurence.

Dot is in despair at the abandonment of the sisterhood, at the idea of pole dancing as empowerment and the sight of five-year-olds with false eyelashes and padded bras. She's still a fierce campaigner, but she isn't sure where to direct her rage.

Meanwhile Margot holds a haunting resentment that her youthful ambitions have always been shelved to attend to the needs of others. And as the two women turn to the past for solutions for the future, Margot's family is in crisis. Laurence travels in a bid to repress his grief, daughter Lexie loses her job after twenty years, and younger sister Emma hides her pain with shopping binges.

With aching empathy, Liz Byrski assembles a fallible cast of characters who are asking the questions we ask ourselves. What does it mean to grow older? Are we brave enough to free ourselves from the pressure to stay young? And is there ever a stage in life when we can just be ourselves?

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Liz Byrski's Last Chance Cafe

Audio Editions

December 2015 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 1-4890-8546-7 / 978-1-4890-8546-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2013 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 1-74315-586-7 / 978-1-74315-586-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2013 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 1-74317-012-2 / 978-1-74317-012-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2013 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 1-74315-848-3 / 978-1-74315-848-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2013 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
ISBN: 1-74317-274-5 / 978-1-74317-274-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2012 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


January 2012 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2012 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2011 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Last Chance Cafe
Author(s): Liz Byrski
Publisher: Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA