New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Lizzie / Indian Summer

Lizzie / Indian Summer

An omnibus of novels by

Lizzie. Yorkshire, 1920. Severing the apron strings that had bound him to his overbearing mother, William Chalmers was determined to make his own way in life. His decision took him to Parker Street where he found lodgings and a suitable position nearby. Little did he realise that this inauspicious, very ordinary-looking street contained the woman, Lizzie, whose actions would dominate the rest of his adult life.However, Lizzie was completely unattainable: not only was she married but she also had a daughter whose security and stability she put before her own emotional needs.Much as he tries, William is unable to relinquish the hope that he may one day capture Lizzie's love, and their lives become inextricably woven together. But what more can William do than wait for the day when they may both be free to love one another? Indian Summer When Judith Frayne, wife of the charismatic crime novelist Charles Felton, discovers t at his mistress has been with him to America, and their affair is about to hit the headlines, she seeks sanctuary in a rented cottage on the south east coast of Cornwall. Local legend holds that 'Driftwood' is haunted: relic of a forgotten age, and an unhappy love affair. Judith however, is determined to stay and restore the cottage to its Edwardian glory; much as the owner, Cameron McCauley, tries to prevent her. Enriched by its tranquil atmosphere and a new-found sense of purpose, Judith slowly pieces together the history of Driftwood's former residents. Then, just as her resentment towards McCauley turns more to understanding, Judith is forced to confront her old life in London; to face up to her husband... and her future.


Used availability for Louise Brindley's Lizzie / Indian Summer

Paperback Editions

January 1999 : UK Paperback

Title: Lizzie & Indian Summer - Two Books In One Volume
Author(s): Louise Brindley
ISBN: 0-330-39296-4 / 978-0-330-39296-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA