book cover of Casualties
Added by 1 of our members

Casualties

(1986)
A novel by

 
 
An unforgettable family saga. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

How do you move forward when you are haunted by the horrors of the past?


London, 1975



With her marriage at breaking point and worrying she is failing in her relationships with her teenage sons, Sue McClusky is at a crossroads.

So when Mariolain, an old friend of Sue's, suggests the whole family come to stay with her in The Netherlands, Sue accepts immediately.

Sue and Cal soon see their own troubles reflected in the marriage of Mariolain and her husband Niels.

But as confidences grow between the couples, it becomes clear that the Dutch couple's problems are more deep-seated than Sue could have ever imagined.

Thirty-five years earlier, both Mariolain and Niels suffered unimaginably during the Second World War.

As Sue learns the harrowing truth, she begins to feel that maybe the shocks of the past can help heal the rifts of the present...

CASUALTIES is a heart-breaking saga spanning from Nazi-occupied Holland and the prisoner-of-war camps in Indonesia to the struggles of family relationships in 1970s Europe.

'How lucky we are to have Lynne Reid Banks! Casualties is her eighth novel and easily her best' - Daily Telegraph

'tremendously moving... Shattering details of wartime hardships and childhood abuse are insinuated into matter-of-fact particulars about daily domestic routines' - Publishers Weekly

'Casualties is a human-centred story, layered and compelling' - The Good The Bad and The Bookish

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lynne Reid Banks's Casualties

Hardback Editions

September 1988 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Casualties (New Portway Large Print Books)
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 0-7451-7134-6 / 978-0-7451-7134-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chivers Large print (Chivers, Windsor, Paragon & C
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 1987 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Casualties
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 0-312-01013-3 / 978-0-312-01013-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 1986 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Casualties
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 0-241-11917-0 / 978-0-241-11917-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Casualties: Relationships are shattered after the trauma of WWII
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 1-913028-91-7 / 978-1-913028-91-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 1987 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Casualties
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 0-14-010078-4 / 978-0-14-010078-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 1992 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Casualties: Complete & Unabridged
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
ISBN: 0-7451-4012-2 / 978-0-7451-4012-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chivers Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Casualties: Relationships are shattered after the trauma of WWII
Author(s): Lynne Reid Banks
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU