New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

Version Thirteen

Version Thirteen

(2013)
(The second book in the Spendlove series)
A novel by

 
Imagine a piece of technology so valuable that it turns the world's two most powerful lobbies - the oil industry and the arms trade - against one another.

Yavlinsky, a brilliant Russian scientist has created a piece of wonder-technology; a drilling process that uses the forces of supercavitation. Named 'Version Thirteen', it enables oil explorers to take 40 per cent more oil out of the ground - it's worth trillions.

But there's a problem. Supercavitation is also the basis for highly sophisticated weaponry - submarines and torpedoes that can travel at hundreds of kilometres per hour beneath the sea. Russian arms dealers have been selling this technology to Iran since the 1980s. If the revolutionary oil-drilling technology works, the weaponry is rendered useless.

When Yavlinksy is found dead, the designs for the revolutionary drilling process are stolen or destroyed. Except one set of design plans does still exist. The one lodged in Samuel Spendlove's head. Spendlove, an Oxford academic now working as a spy, is the novel's hero. Blessed (or cursed) with a photographic memory, he suddenly finds himself the most wanted man in the world... The story of his pursuit takes us from the Middle East to Moscow to the Kamchatka peninsula, a land of no roads and many active volcanoes, one of the most remote and spectacular places on the planet.

Fans of Robert Harris and Martin Cruz Smith will love Martin Baker. Combining painstaking research with the forensic storytelling skill of a Hollywood screenwriter, Version Thirteen marks the arrival of a master of the genre.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


Sea of Poppies
(Ibis Trilogy, book 1)

Amitav Ghosh

The Great Swindle
Pierre Lemaitre

Euphoria
Lily King

Orfeo
Richard Powers
 
Used availability for Martin Baker's Version Thirteen


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

October 2013 : UK Paperback
Title: Version Thirteen
Author(s): Martin Baker
ISBN: 1-78352-001-9 / 978-1-78352-001-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Unbound
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Version Thirteen
Author(s): Martin Baker
Publisher: Unbound Digital
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for