Peter Benson

UK flag (b.1956)

Born in 1956, Peter Benson was educated in Ramsgate, Canterbury and Exeter. His first novel, The Levels, won the Guardian Fiction Prize. This was followed by A Lesser Dependency, winner of the Encore award, The Other Occupant, which was awarded the Somerset Maugham Award, and three more novels: Odo's Hanging, Riptide and A Private Moon. He has also published short stories, screenplays and poetry, and his work has been adapted for TV and radio and translated into many languages. He lives in Exeter, Devon with his wife.

Genres: General Fiction
   The Levels (1987)
   A Lesser Dependency (1989)
   The Other Occupant (1990)
   Odo's Hanging (1993)
   Riptide (1994)
   A Private Moon (1995)
   The Shape of Clouds (1996)
   Two Cows and a Vanful of Smoke (2011)
   Isabel's Skin (2012)
   The South in Winter (2017)
   The Stromness Dinner (2020)
   Kidnap Fury of the Smoking Lovers (2022)
Novellas and Short Stories
   The Two Friends (2013) (with Alessandro Gallenzi)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors