New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Death in Ravenna

Death in Ravenna

A Novella by


September 618 AD.

The Byzantine Empire is losing its war with Persia. Syria and Egypt are occupied. The Balkans are lost. Italy is going, one bite at a time, to the Lombards. The Catholic Church is already an independent power.

At 15, Rodi is the youngest agent in the Byzantine secret service.

He's in Ravenna to find dirt on an Exarch suspected of having his hand in the till.

His mission goes exactly to plan - until a freak accident leads to murder and the uncovering of a plot no one in Constantinople had thought possible.

Who are the men who killed the Exarch's secretary?

Why are they openly at large in Ravenna?

What is the encrypted letter Rodi found in the Exarch's office?

Why is every one of the rival courts on the Italian peninsula so eager to lay hands on it?

And can Rodi manage to stay alive in the snake pit of Italian politics...?

This is a story of blood and espionage that takes you from the canals and squares of mediaeval Ravenna, to the Lombard capital in Pavia, where the distinction between barbarian and Roman seems to be blurring by the day into a common Italian nationhood.

Death in Ravenna is a thrilling historical novella, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. It follows on from 'Game of Empires'.

Praise for Richard Blake:

"Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much." Derek Jacobi, star of I Claudius and Gladiator

"Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period... . Nasty, fun and educational." The Daily Telegraph

"He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed." The Mail on Sunday

"A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel." Historical Novels

"It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy." The Morning Star

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

Used availability for Richard Blake's Death in Ravenna

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

March 2016 : Paperback
Title: Death in Ravenna
Author(s): Richard Blake
ISBN: 1-5307-8181-7 / 978-1-5307-8181-2
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Death in Ravenna
Author(s): Richard Blake
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for