New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Fighters Up

(1986)
A novel by

 
The year is 1940.

Pilot Officer Howard has been flying Hurricanes as war draws closer.

Now, with the conflict underway, he is looking forward with confidence to taking on the Luftwaffe's Messerschmitt 109s heading for Britain's shores.

But his Wing Commander has taken against him and in an act of petty retribution sends him to defend Norway in an campaign where RAF casualties are high.

Howard survives but in Wing Commander Northam he has a bitter enemy.

First as his Wing Leader after the Battle of Britain, and ultimately, and then as a group captain, once again his station commander, Northam seemed intent on proving him unsuited for leadership.

And when Howard, as a newly promoted flight commander, and with 12 kills to his credit, comes back into Northam's baleful clutches in 1942, matters reach a crisis which will make or break his career...

'Fighters Up' is a full-throttle WWII fighter pilot adventure story, rich in authentic period detail.

It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

'A thrilling page turner.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

Richard Townshend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including 'Torpedo Attack', 'My Enemy Came Nigh', 'Bombing Run' and 'Summer of No Surrender'.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

 
Used availability for Richard Townshend Bickers's Fighters Up


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

October 1986 : UK Hardback
Title: Fighters Up
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
ISBN: 0-7090-2691-9 / 978-0-7090-2691-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

March 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Fighters Up
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for