New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

When Darkness Falls and Other Stories

When Darkness Falls and Other Stories

A collection of stories by

In When Darkness Falls and Other Stories, Ruskin Bond displays all the qualities of a master storyteller: a deceptively effortless style, an eye for the extraordinary in seemingly humdrum lives, and a deep empathy with his characters. We make the acquaintance of Markham, a war veteran condemned to a lifetime of loneliness by a tragic accident; Susanna, the merry widow who loved each of her seven husbands to death; the sad wife who returns after her death only to find that her husband has moved on to another life and another wife; a simpleton who outwits a crafty ghost; and Kundan Lal, the reckless rake whom women find irresistible. We also go down memory lane with the author, Dehradun of the 1940s and '50s, where there was space for the small errors of young and eccentric lives.
Humorous, sad and nostalgic, the stories in the collection are a treat for all Ruskin Bond fans.

Used availability for Ruskin Bond's When Darkness Falls and Other Stories

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

April 2003 : UK Paperback
Title: When Darkness Falls and Other Stories
Author(s): Ruskin Bond
ISBN: 0-14-100683-8 / 978-0-14-100683-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 2001 : UK Kindle edition
Title: When Darkness Falls And Other Stories
Author(s): Ruskin Bond
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for