New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Battle For Empire

Battle For Empire

(The fifth book in the Eskkar Saga series)
A novel by

Battle For Empire is the latest novel in Sam Barone's six part series, a bronze age historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell, and Jean Auel.

In Dawn of Empire, Eskkar the warrior and Trella the slave girl come together in a mighty struggle to survive a barbarian invasion and build mankind's first walled city. Fifteen years have passed, and under Trella's guidance, Akkad has become the most prosperous and powerful city in the Land Between the Rivers.

Now Eskkar and Trella face new menaces to their growing empire - an invasion from the north, the return of the hostile steppes horsemen, and their rebellious son, Sargon, who threatens to destroy everything his parents have worked so hard to create.

As Eskkar confronts his former clan in a battle that only one side can survive, Sargon, the heir to the throne, falls deeper into idleness and disrepute. In desperation, his parents banish Sargon, sending him to their warrior allies from the steppes to learn honor or die. But even as he dreams of taking power from his parents, Sargon encounters Tashanella, the beautiful and gifted daughter of the clan's chief. She shows Sargon a different path. Suddenly thrust into battle, Sargon discovers that he must learn the way of the warrior not only to survive, but to save Tashanella's life, and the city of Akkad.

Meanwhile Bracca, Eskkar's companion from his wild days, risks his life to bring warning of yet another danger. The mighty Elamite Empire, the near mythical land beyond the mountains, has cast its eyes on the riches of the Land Between the Rivers. The Elamites must expand to survive, and they, too, plan to invade the Land Between the Rivers and reduce its people to slavery.

Eskkar and Trella must find a way to defeat this vastly superior force led by experienced conquerors. Eskkar's battle skills will be tested, and Sargon becomes the reluctant warrior who holds the key to Akkad salvation and his parents' survival.

Similar Books by other authors...

The Flame Bearer
(Last Kingdom, book 10)

Bernard Cornwell

Warriors of the Storm
(Last Kingdom, book 9)

Bernard Cornwell

(Wars of the Roses, book 3)

Conn Iggulden

God of Vengeance
(Rise of Sigurd, book 1)

Giles Kristian
Used availability for Sam Barone's Battle For Empire

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

May 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: Battle For Empire
Author(s): Sam Barone
ISBN: 0-9851626-2-7 / 978-0-9851626-2-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Eskkar Enterprises
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2012 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Battle For Empire (The Eskkar Saga Book 5)
Author(s): Sam Barone
Publisher: Eskkar Enterprises
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for