New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

Where I Live Now

Where I Live Now

(2017)
A non fiction book by

 
An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

"It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended." - Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill's Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande's Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala's husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory - of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country's true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

 
Used availability for Sharon Butala's Where I Live Now


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

April 2017 : USA Hardback
Title: Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope
Author(s): Sharon Butala
ISBN: 1-4767-9048-5 / 978-1-4767-9048-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope
Author(s): Sharon Butala
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

April 2017 : UK Kindle edition
Title: Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope
Author(s): Sharon Butala
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for