book cover of Woman of State
Added by 2 of our members

Woman of State

(2017)
(The first book in the Woman of State series)
A novel by

 
 
‘A stunning debut novel…It could not be more timely.’ – Gavin Esler

Somebody knows where the bodies are buried…

Newly-appointed Minister of State Anne-Marie Gallagher appears to have an unblemished record. Only she knows the truth. In the early 1990s, she was embroiled in the IRA’s violent past, and integral to a mission which went disastrously wrong.

So far, skeletons have remained in their closets. But, unknown to Anne-Marie, DCI Jon Carne has just received an anonymous tip-off. The co-ordinates lead Carne to a body – badly decomposed after twenty-five years underground.

When news of the discovery reaches Westminster, Anne-Marie knows that she is at risk of being exposed. And with Carne closing in, there’s not much time for the new minister to decide how far she’ll go to keep her past where it belongs…

Power comes at a price in this sharp, smart political thriller – perfect for fans of Charles Cumming and Mick Herron.

‘A stunning debut novel from a top TV producer, A Secret Worth Killing For takes us from the back streets of Belfast during the Troubles to power and parliament in London. It could not be more timely.’ – Gavin Esler

Previously published as Woman of State

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Simon Berthon's Woman of State

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Woman of State (Harp02 13 06 2019)
Author(s): Simon Berthon
ISBN: 0-00-821436-0 / 978-0-00-821436-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Woman of State
Author(s): Simon Berthon
ISBN: 0-00-821437-9 / 978-0-00-821437-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman of State
Author(s): Simon Berthon
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman of State
Author(s): Simon Berthon
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Woman of State
Author(s): Simon Berthon
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Secret Worth Killing For
Author(s): Simon Berthon
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU