New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
FINALIST, INDIEFAB BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD (2015) for all independent, small, university, and self-published presses
Love! Romance! High society! Art Theft--all told by the wise and witty little cat, Alba, who has her own feline affairs. Lorna, now over 60, has just fallen horribly, head-over heels in love--with a younger man; and worse, he's involved with her best friend, Nikki, and now Nikki, an art conservator, is caught up in international art theft, prison, and other events of everyday life in Washington, D. C. Underneath this light-hearted romp lie serious issues of aging, sexual desire, friendship, sacrifice, and glimpses into the spiritual realm for which Sophy Burnham, the visionary behind the angels phenomenon, is best known. As with her other bestsellers, just reading this inspiring book leaves you happy.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SOPHY BURNHAM, awarded "Daughter of Mark Twain," is the author of fourteen books, award-winning plays, radio plays, children's books, investigative reporting and short stories. She is best known for her spiritual writing, including A Book of Angels and The Treasure of Montsegur. Her works are translated into twenty-six languages. An engaging speaker, she appeared on Oprah (twice), on Larry King Live, Good Morning America, CBS Morning News, and scores of other TV and radio programs. She has spoken at venues as varied as the IMF, St. Louis Art Museum, churches, conferences, bookstores and National Storytellers Association. For more information see sophyburnham.com

PRAISE FOR LOVE, ALBA
An audacious literary achievement in the tradition of Watership Down and Timbuktu, Sophy Burnham's Love, Alba takes a Washingtonian cat's eye view of love, betrayal, high society, and art theft that is at once charming and deeply wise.
--C.M. Mayo, author of The Last Prince of the Mexican Empire

The delicious appeal of Love Alba has largely to do with the extraordinary voice of its cat-narrator. This voice grows more and more endearing with every page. Alba's openhearted generosity toward the stumbling emotional antics of her humans leads a captivated reader on a charmed journey to the last sentence. I intended to read the first few chapters yesterday and didn't raise my head until I was halfway through. What a writer!
--Margaret Dulaney, author of the play The Hummingbird's Tour

Leave it to literary shape-shifter Sophy Burnham to riff on the feline novel vein of Rita Mae Brown, Don Marquis, Natsume Soseki, and Robert Michie, as told by a snarky cat with a spiritual streak. Burnham possesses a fearless acrobatic imagination, which makes for a magical ate-a-canary smile of a novel.
--Richard Peabody, editor, Gargoyle Magazine; author of Richard Peabody Reader

Love, Alba is a charming, romantic cat's tale that will leave you purring. . . and mewing for more! I hope it's the first in a series.
--Anne Simpkinson, former managing editor at Guideposts.com, contributor to Love Dem Cats! blog

In this comedy of manners, human foibles and feline nature combine in delightful, ingenious storytelling. Alba, the cat, is as memorably wise, funny, observant and vulnerable as any great character--yet always believably a cat. With humor and grace Burnham extends a generosity of spirit to all characters and suggests that we humans are lucky, indeed, to be looked after by these divine creatures. We don't quite measure up, but they love us poor souls anyway.
--Maureen McCoy, author of the novel Junebug

 
Similar Books by other authors...


Almost a World Record Breaker
(Teddy Mars, book 1)

Molly B Burnham

The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie
(Flavia de Luce Mystery, book 1)

Alan Bradley

A Lesson in Secrets
(Maisie Dobbs, book 8)

Jacqueline Winspear

A Dangerous Place
(Maisie Dobbs, book 11)

Jacqueline Winspear
 
Used availability for Sophy Burnham's Love, Alba


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

July 2015 : USA Paperback
Title: Love, Alba
Author(s): Sophy Burnham
ISBN: 1-935914-47-2 / 978-1-935914-47-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: River Sanctuary Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Love, Alba
Author(s): Sophy Burnham
Publisher: River Sanctuary Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for