New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Sealskin

Sealskin

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
What happens when magic collides with reality? Donald is a young fisherman, eking out a lonely living on the west coast of Scotland. One night he witnesses something miraculous ... and makes a terrible mistake. His action changes lives not only his own, but those of his family and the entire tightly knit community in which they live. Can he ever atone for the wrong he has done, and can love grow when its foundation is violence? Based on the legend of the selkies - seals who can transform into people - Sealskin is a magical story, evoking the harsh beauty of the landscape, the resilience of its people, both human and animal, and the triumph of hope over fear and prejudice. With exquisite grace, Exeter Novel Prize-winner Su Bristow transports us to a different world, subtly and beautifully exploring what it means to be an outsider, and our innate capacity for forgiveness and acceptance. Rich with myth and magic, Sealskin is, nonetheless, a very human story, as relevant to our world as to the timeless place in which it is set. And it is, quite simply, unforgettable. For fans of Angela Carter, Eowyn Ivey, Alice Hoffmann and Geraldine Brooks.

    

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Su Bristow's Sealskin

Paperback Editions

February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
ISBN: 1-910633-60-7 / 978-1-910633-60-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orenda
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


February 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sealskin
Author(s): Su Bristow
Publisher: Orenda Books
Availability: Amazon CA