book cover of The Hunting Season
Added by 2 of our members

The Hunting Season

(2020)
(The second book in the Daniel Leicester series)
A novel by

 
 
'An insider's view of life in the heart of Bologna - I felt transported there. Gripping plot and immersive description.' Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

A gripping and atmospheric crime thriller set in the beautiful Italian city of Bologna, perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Philip Gwynne Jones.

It's truffle season and in the hills around Bologna the hunt is on for the legendary Boscuri White, the golden nugget of Italian gastronomy. But when an American truffle 'supertaster' goes missing, English detective Daniel Leicester discovers not all truffles are created equal. Did the missing supertaster bite off more than he could chew?

As he goes on the hunt for Ryan Lee, Daniel discovers the secrets behind 'Food City', from the immigrant kitchen staff to the full scale of a multi-million Euro business. After a key witness is found dead at the foot of one of Bologna's famous towers, the stakes could not be higher. Daniel teams up with a glamorous TV reporter, but the deeper he goes into the disappearance of the supertaster the darker things become. Murder is once again on the menu, but this time Daniel himself stands accused. And the only way he can clear his name is by finding Ryan Lee...

Discover Bologna through the eyes of English detective Daniel Leicester as he walks the shadowy porticoes in search of the truth and, perhaps, even gets a little nearer to solving the mystery of Italy itself.

Praise for The Hunting Season

'The Hunting Season is another thrilling crime novel from Tom Benjamin, with an intriguing and twisty mystery that unfolds within Benjamin's acutely-observed descriptions of Bologna, its history and its people. Elegant prose, immersive detail and a gripping plot make the Hunting Season a perfectly-balanced crime read. I loved it!' - Philippa East

'Loved it - an engaging hero, sharp dialogue and an ingenious plot that grips from the start. It'll make you want to visit. - Philip Gwynne Jones

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Lost Hours
(Detective Annie Delamere, book 2)
Alex Walters

Used availability for Tom Benjamin's The Hunting Season

Paperback Editions

May 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season: Death stalks the Italian Wilderness in this gripping crime thriller
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4721-3161-4 / 978-1-4721-3161-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season: Death stalks the Italian Wilderness in this gripping crime thriller (Daniel Leicester 2)
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4721-3159-2 / 978-1-4721-3159-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


November 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hunting Season: Death stalks the Italian Wilderness in this gripping crime thriller (Daniel Leicester 2)
Author(s): Tom Benjamin
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU