New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Anna of Byzantium

(1999)
A novel by

 
For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.

Anna Comnena has every reason to feel entitled. She's a princess, her father's firstborn and his chosen successor. Someday she expects to sit on the throne and rule the vast Byzantine Empire. So the birth of a baby brother doesn't perturb her. Nor do the "barbarians" from foreign lands, who think only a son should ascend to power. Anna is as dismissive of them as are her father and his most trusted adviser--his mother, a manipulative woman with whom Anna studies the art of diplomacy. Anna relishes her lessons, proving adept at checkmating opponents in swift moves of mental chess. But as she matures into a young woman, her arrogance and intelligence threaten her grandmother. Anna will be no one's puppet. Almost overnight, Anna sees her dreams of power wrenched from her and bestowed on her little brother. Bitter at the betrayal, Anna waits to avenge herself, and to seize what is rightfully hers.

Praise for Anna of Byzantium:
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
An ALA Quick Pick
An ALA Best Book for Young Adults
A Booklist Editor's Choice
A Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick

[STAR] "[Anna of Byzantium] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths." - The Bulletin, Starred review

"In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg's A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver and Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire... Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna's story, and the author's precise use of detail helps re-create Anna's world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in... this exciting read." - Booklist, Boxed review

"A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue."-The Horn Book Magazine

"Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written." - VOYA

"This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett's descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind." - Wichita Eagle

From the Paperback edition.

 
Used availability for Tracy Barrett's Anna of Byzantium


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

August 2008 : USA Library Binding
Title: Anna of Byzantium
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 1-4352-4697-7 / 978-1-4352-4697-3 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2000 : USA Library Binding
Title: Anna of Byzantium
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 0-613-28364-3 / 978-0-613-28364-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books: A Division of Sanval
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2000 : USA Library Binding
Title: Anna of Byzantium
Author(s): Ms Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 0-7569-0130-8 / 978-0-7569-0130-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Perfection Learning
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2000 : USA Turtleback
Title: Anna of Byzantium
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 0-606-19742-7 / 978-0-606-19742-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Demco Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 1999 : USA Hardback
Title: Anna of Byzantium
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 0-385-32626-2 / 978-0-385-32626-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 2000 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: Anna of Byzantium (Laurel-Leaf Books)
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
ISBN: 0-440-41536-5 / 978-0-440-41536-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Laurel Leaf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 2011 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Anna of Byzantium (Laurel-Leaf Books)
Author(s): Tracy Barrett
Publisher: Laurel Leaf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for