book cover of An Assassin\'s Guide to Love and Treason
Added by 2 of our members

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A Kirkus 2018 Best Book of the Year!

Shakespeare in Love meets Philippa Gregory in this witty and thrilling story of star-crossed assassins in Elizabeth England, perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and TheGentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue!
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally practicing Catholic, she discovers treason wasn't the only secret he's been hiding -- he was also involved in a murder plot against the reigning Queen Elizabeth I. With nothing left to lose, Katherine disguises herself as a boy and travels to London to fulfill her father's mission, and to take it one step further -- kill the queen herself.
Katherine's opportunity comes in the form of William Shakespeare's newest play, which is to be performed in front of Her Majesty. But what she doesn't know is that the play is not just a play. It's a plot to root out insurrectionists and destroy the rebellion once and for all.
The mastermind behind this ruse is Toby Ellis, a young spy for the queen with secrets of his own. When Toby and Katherine are cast opposite each other as the play's leads, they find themselves inexplicably drawn to one another. But the closer they grow, the more precarious their positions become. And soon they learn that star-crossed love, mistaken identity, and betrayal are far more dangerous off the stage than on.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason is an engrossing story of love and intrigue, with a rich atmosphere that takes you back in time and a cast of historical characters that stay with you long after you've finished. I couldn't put it down!" - Alexis Bass

"An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason is a thrilling, immersive romp through Shakespeare's London, and all the intrigue, alliances, and politics that shaped it. Helmed by two feisty leading players who I fell in love with as they fell for each other, and with snappy, energetic prose that will appeal to both fans of historicals and contemporaries, there's something here for everyone. I devoured this book with ravenous joy. Bravo!" - Mackenzi Lee


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Virginia Boecker's An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

Hardback Editions

February 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Author(s): Virginia Boecker
ISBN: 1-66360-674-9 / 978-1-66360-674-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Author(s): Virginia Boecker
ISBN: 0-316-32734-4 / 978-0-316-32734-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Author(s): Virginia Boecker
ISBN: 0-316-32729-8 / 978-0-316-32729-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Author(s): Virginia Boecker
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Author(s): Virginia Boecker
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU