New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Burden of Power

The Burden of Power

(The fourth book in the Alastair Campbell Diaries series)
A non fiction book by

The Burden of Power is the fourth volume of Alastair Campbell's diaries, and perhaps the most eagerly awaited given the ground it covers. It begins on September 12, 2001 as world leaders assess their response to Al Qaida terrorist attacks in New York and Washington the day before, a day which wrote itself immediately into the history books: 9/11, and it ends on the day Campbell leaves Downing Street. In between there are two wars, first Afghanistan, still going on today, and then, even more controversially, Iraq. It was the most difficult decision of Blair's premiership, and perhaps the most unpopular. Campbell describes in detail the discussions with President Bush and other world leaders as the steps to war are taken, and delivers an intimate account of Blair as war leader. He records the enormous political difficulties at home, and the sense of crisis that engulfed the government over the suicide of weapons inspector David Kelly. And in the meantime Blair continues to struggle with two issues that have run through all of the Campbell diaries in government - fighting for peace in Northern Ireland, and trying to make peace with Gordon Brown. And Campbell continues to struggle with trying to balance one of the most pressurised posts in politics with the needs of a family and a partner who wants him to leave it. The Burden of Power is as raw and intimate a portrayal of the pressures and responsibilities of political life as you are ever likely to read.

    Get it on Google Play

Used availability for Alastair Campbell's The Burden of Power

Hardback Editions

2012 : UK Hardback

Title: The Burden of Power: Countdown to Iraq - The Alastair Campbell Diaries: 4
Author(s): Alistair Campbell
ISBN: 0-09-179628-8 / 978-0-09-179628-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hutchinson
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2013 : UK Paperback

Title: The Burden of Power: Countdown to Iraq - The Alastair Campbell Diaries
Author(s): Alastair Campbell
ISBN: 0-09-951473-7 / 978-0-09-951473-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA